SUANSHU KHURANA

Profile

Music was probably my first language: Zubin Mehta
Sun, Jul 26, 2015

Two years after the controversy over his Kashmir concert, renowned music conductor Zubin Mehta,79, is set to return to India.

Indian Ocean’s music for ‘Masaan’: A heartfelt score that takes one on an evocative journey
Fri, Jul 17, 2015

At the helm of Masaan’s music is one of India’s foremost bands, Indian Ocean.

Filter Coffee: a blend of classical music and electronica
Thu, Jul 16, 2015

Filter Coffee is one of the latest entrants in the Indian indie music circuit and their aroma is heady

‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’ music review
Fri, Jul 10, 2015

'Bajrangi Bhaijaan' music review: Most of the 'Bajrangi Bhaijaan' album is full of tracks that wander aimlessly.

Ramzan, with a Sufi Flavour
Thu, Jul 09, 2015

Once satiated by the music, those fasting rush to the food stalls, most of which put out large degchis of dum biryanis and piles of sheermal for iftaar.

Acid Flashback
Tue, Jul 07, 2015

Charanjit Singh, pioneer of acid house, passed away in Mumbai on Sunday.

Average Joe
Sat, Jul 04, 2015

Overall, the album has a decent palette but lacks depth. It is passable, quite underwhelming as a project.

The Hills are Still Alive
Mon, Jun 29, 2015

Musician Elisabeth Von Trapp on growing up with The Sound of Music, a few of her favourite things and singing in Salzburg for the film’s golden jubilee.

James Horner’s compositions sound easy and effortless: Clinton Cerejo
Wed, Jun 24, 2015

What made Horner great was his past as a concert hall composer. Those classical influences made his music rich, edgy and an absolute aural treat.

Carnatic music is not a candidate in an election: TM Krishna
Sun, Jun 21, 2015

Carnatic vocalist TM Krishna, 39, on his decision to stay away from Chennai’s kutcheri circuit from this season, his rejection of the conservative tradition and why not all forms of music will accrue a huge following

Clothing the Form
Mon, Jun 15, 2015

Costume designer Sandhya Raman on the aesthetics of dance costumes and the passion and courage one needs to tweak and modernise them.

Off The Record: What the mehfil meant to the artiste and her audience
Sun, Jun 14, 2015

A baithak is an intimate space, a confluence of minds and music. In the age of impersonal concerts in packed halls, we look back at what the mehfil meant to the artiste and her audience and how it has changed over the years

One Song Wonder
Sat, May 30, 2015

Hamari Adhuri Kahani is not an entirely detestable album.

Raviji belonged to the world, says Sukanya Shankar
Tue, May 26, 2015

Pt Ravi Shankar’s wife Sukanya Shankar talks of life after his death, writing an uncensored biography of the musician and completing the projects he began.

Grammy Museum in LA pays tribute to sitar maestro Pt Ravi Shankar through an exhibition
Wed, May 27, 2015

In a first for any Indian, Grammy Museum in Los Angeles is paying a tribute to sitar maestro Pt Ravi Shankar through an exhibition.

Music This Week: Off the Mark
Sat, May 23, 2015

British nu-folk outfit Mumford and Sons began their career in 2007.

Of Clefs and Chords
Thu, May 21, 2015

William Hamilton Bird’s rare book, which notated the beguiling melodies created by the nautch girls and camel drivers of the 18th century, finds its way home through a new British album.

Dil Dhadakne Do: High On Energy, Low on Melody
Sat, May 16, 2015

It has been a while since Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy gave us anything rock solid. Time for a different sonic path? Probably.

The Sum and its Parts
Sat, May 09, 2015

The arrangements are all euphoric dhols and drums, pounded to perfection.

Nepali band in Gurgaon today to raise money for quake victims
Fri, May 08, 2015

Almost two weeks after the quake, Pradhan and his band, Adrian & Friendz, have travelled from Kathmandu to Delhi to be a part of the showcase of the song — My friend, though miles separate us — and a music video created by Sherpa.

Neeti Mohan: Raising the Bar
Wed, May 06, 2015

Neeti Mohan, the voice behind Anushka Sharma’s jazz singer avatar in the upcoming film Bombay Velvet, is hitting all the key notes.

Jazz by the Bay
Sat, May 02, 2015

Bombay Velvet is one of the more succinct album in the recent times.

The Haj gave me validation: Openly gay Muslim filmmaker records his journey in a documentary
Tue, Apr 28, 2015

Parvez Sharma’s documentary, A Sinner in Mecca, records his journey to holy city as gay man coming to terms with his religion.

I was singing at Hanuman Mandir and religion didn’t matter, says Ustad Ghulam Ali
Sun, Apr 26, 2015

Pakistani ghazal maestro Ustad Ghulam Ali, on his recent concert at the Sankat Mochan mandira and future of ghazal.

Sacred Record
Sun, Apr 26, 2015

A collaborative project between Zurich’s Museum Rietberg and Delhi’s Crafts Museum documents the rare and distinctive musical traditions of the Santals.

Gandhari’s Lament
Mon, Apr 20, 2015

Sanjukta Wagh, who won this year’s META for best female actor, on portraying Gandhari and stepping out of her comfort zone.

Like Father, Like Daughter
Mon, Apr 13, 2015

A packed concert — vocal jugalbandi between Kaushiki and Pt Ajoy Chakraborty — not just met but surpassed expectations

‘Mr. X’ Music Review: The effect the music leaves behind is at best parodic if not clumsy
Fri, Apr 17, 2015

Every song is half-cooked and seems to have been created in a tearing hurry.

Sometimes one is constantly judging the music rather than enjoying it: AR Rahman
Thu, Apr 09, 2015

India’s only Oscar-winning composer AR Rahman on coming to terms with fame, picking himself up from failure and building bridges through music.

The Pied Piper’s Rhapsody
Tue, Apr 07, 2015

A documentary on AR Rahman tracks his journey in music.

An Indian Sonata
Sat, Apr 04, 2015

Pianist Utsav Lal on making the blend possible and breaking into the big league.

Life of a Caregiver
Thu, Apr 02, 2015

Why the world of Indian classical music should be indebted to flautist Nityanand Haldipur

10-year old Uthara to receive National Award 20 years after father singer P Unnikrishnan got
Mon, Mar 30, 2015

The song has also made Uthara one of the youngest playback singers to receive the award in this category.

Meant to Live
Sat, Mar 28, 2015

Switchfoot will perform on Saturday at Hard Rock Cafe, 8.30 pm onwards.

Sukhwinder Singh after winning National Award: You can’t be sane and deliver Bismil
Thu, Mar 26, 2015

Sukhwinder Singh on winning the National Award for Haider and singing with his heart on his sleeve.

The Endless River
Sun, Mar 22, 2015

A documentary on Girija Devi takes one through the narrow bylanes of Varanasi and the Purab ang gayaki they have harboured for decades.