Pooja Khati

Profile

I grew up in a town without a single cinema: South Korean filmmaker Im Kwon-Taek
Wed, Nov 30, 2016

Veteran South Korean filmmaker Im Kwon-Taek, who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at IFFI in Goa, talks about his cinematic journey and Bollywood films

Paperbackers: From Russia, with Thugs
Mon, Nov 28, 2016

Name: Kill Order Author: Vince Flynn & Kyle mills Publisher: Simon and Schuster Pages: 374 Price: 550 From Russia, with Thugs Essentially a modern retelling of the iconic Bond novel, Kill Order is the latest in the Mitch Rapp series, now written by Kyle Mills, following the death of the original author, Vince Flynn. The […]

The Right Choice
Sat, Nov 19, 2016

With a good dose of reality, Ravinder Singh's focus has always been love

Outside the Frame
Tue, Nov 08, 2016

Actor Swara Bhaskar on changes in the Indian film industry.

IFFI begins Nov 20 with films from 88 nations
Wed, Nov 02, 2016

Another new initiative this year is the Centenary Award for Best Debut Feature of a Director, with which IFFI would recognise young talent.

Elephant in the room
Thu, Oct 20, 2016

A new documentary offers a peek into the lives of elephants in Botswana.

Exchanging Notes
Tue, Oct 11, 2016

A documentary made by two Russian filmmakers on the interactions between Leo Tolstoy and Mahatma Gandhi was screened at the BRICS Film Festival.

Setting the Stage
Sat, Oct 08, 2016

The Old World Theatre Festival, in its 15th edition, is a show of hands of new approaches in theatre.

Know Thyself
Wed, Sep 21, 2016

Sanskrit feature film Ishti confronts patriarchy in the Namboothiri community of the mid-20th century

Xuan Zang is a step towards cooperation between India and China, says Director Huo Jianqi
Thu, Sep 08, 2016

Huo Jianqi won the Best Director award at the recently concluded BRICS Film Festival in Delhi for his film Xuan Zang.

On the record: Wanted to talk about abuse in a way that was not didactic says Meg Rickards
Wed, Sep 07, 2016

South African director Meg Rickards on her award-winning film Tess and wanting to make a feature on Gandhi.

World view
Wed, Sep 07, 2016

Jury member at the BRICS Film Festival, filmmaker Xoliswa Sithole shares her views on cinema as a means to promote social cohesion.

Community Spirit
Sat, Sep 03, 2016

The Nomad Film Festival aims at highlighting the issues faced by the Denotified and Nomadic tribes

Moving Picture
Fri, Sep 02, 2016

The BRICS Film Festival will bring the best of cinema from the member nations.

A Twist in the Tale
Tue, Aug 30, 2016

A film follows a Nepalese family as their dream of leading a better life is shattered.

SNAP — Blackstar & Mercury
Fri, Aug 05, 2016

Musician David Bowie’s last album, Blackstar, which he released on January 8 this year, two days before he passed away, has been shortlisted for the prestigious Mercury Prize.

Embracing Strength
Mon, Aug 01, 2016

National Award-winning documentary The Man Who Dwarfed the Mountains pays tribute to environmentalist Chandi Prasad Bhatt.

She Belongs to the Hills
Tue, Jul 05, 2016

An award-winning film by Stanzin Dorjai-Gya and Christiane Mordelet centres around shepherdesses of endangered Pashmina goats in the Himalayas

The industry has supported my decision: Tusshar Kapoor
Thu, Aug 25, 2016

Actor Tusshar Kapoor on surrogacy, being a single parent and the challenges ahead

Self at the Centre
Wed, Jun 29, 2016

Srinagar-based filmmaker Ali Emran adapts Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead in a Kashmiri setting.

On the Record: Killer Instincts
Fri, Jun 24, 2016

Sobhita Dhulipala on her debut film Raman Raghav 2.0.

Documentary on India’s transgender community shows they are just like us
Thu, Jun 16, 2016

A new documentary offers a fresh perspective on the transgender community

Sweet Nothings
Fri, Jun 10, 2016

Pratik Sharma on his award-winning film Gutrun Gutargun, which opens up a conversation about the lack of sanitation in rural India.

‘Manto would have a lot to say about these times’
Wed, Jun 01, 2016

Nandita Das on her next directorial venture, Manto, a film that encapsulates seven crucial years in the life of Saadat Hasan Manto.

On The Record: A Date with Destiny
Fri, May 27, 2016

Director Raam Reddy on his National Award-winning debut film, Thithi, which is set for a release in theatres this June

Her Expression
Thu, May 26, 2016

Filmmaker Shatabdi Chakrabarti’s documentary, Ink-in my Body, attempts to understand the relationship between body art and women

Before it is Lost
Fri, May 20, 2016

Nilanjan Datta talks about his film The Headhunter, winner of the National Award for the Best Film in Wancho language

On the Record: War and Peace
Tue, May 17, 2016

Samujjal Kashyap on his documentary Tezpur-1962, which won the National Award for the Best Investigative Film this year.

Master of the Lens
Fri, May 13, 2016

A quest to understand the ways of filmmaking led OP Shrivastav to make a feature film on his mentor. Life in Metaphors-A Portrait of Girish Kasaravalli has won a National Award for Best Biographical Film this year.

Shades of Green
Mon, May 09, 2016

Bijukumar Damodaran talks about the making of his National Award-winning Malayalam film

Island of Magic documentary, a class art, by Mumbai-based Anaka Kaundinya
Thu, May 05, 2016

Mumbai-based Anaka Kaundinya’s first documentary shows how education in government schools need not be cliched.

On the Record: Master of Words
Sat, Apr 30, 2016

Author of bestselling novels such as The Rozabal Line, Chanakya’s Chant and The Krishna Key, Ashwin Sanghi is known for delving into history and mythology.

On the Record: Yoga guru Prashant Iyengar on the importance of yoga, and the business of ‘unyoga’
Tue, Apr 26, 2016

'Yoga doesn’t start by taking instructions in yog. It starts when you seek the truth of life.'

Opening a Forgotten Chapter
Thu, Apr 21, 2016

An exhibition offers a glimpse into the cultural heritage of the Rampur state.

On the Record: Life on the Road
Tue, Apr 19, 2016

Artist Babu Eshwar Prasad on turning into a film director with Gaalibeeja

On the record: Man of His Word – Nida Fazli
Tue, Apr 12, 2016

Pankaj Butalia talks about his forthcoming projects and a film that pays tribute to Urdu poet Nida Fazli.