Pallavi Chattopadhyay

Profile

School of Thought
Thu, Jul 28, 2016

Four artists look at conceptual art history.

Face off: Paying homage to the ritualistic theatre tradition in Mexico
Wed, Jul 27, 2016

An exhibition sheds light on the rich heritage of masks in Mexico.

Another Long Day: Anil Kapoor talks about 24: Season 2
Fri, Jul 22, 2016

Anil Kapoor on the second edition of the TV series 24 and adapting American shows for India

These are the 5 things I learnt from a workshop on how to take a great selfie
Tue, Jul 19, 2016

I attended a workshop on 'the art of selfies', and this is what I learnt.

Look good always: Delhi holds workshop on how to take fabulous selfies
Tue, Jul 19, 2016

A workshop placed the selfie in the history of art and explored ways to look good on camera

Of Past and Present
Thu, Jul 14, 2016

Taniya Vaidya lends a contemporary touch to her paintings using 5,000-year-old textile techniques.

Echoes from the Mountains
Fri, Jun 24, 2016

Geographer Vaibhav Kaul’s latest exhibition depicts the environmental changes in the mountain regions.

Her Black Lotus
Thu, May 19, 2016

Yuriko Lochan continues her artistic journey with the lotus motif as her sole protagonist.

Check Mate: For the love of playing cards
Sat, May 14, 2016

Fifty-five artists exhibit playful interpretations of the playing card.

The Lotus has a Point
Mon, May 02, 2016

Scottish-born Olivia Fraser paints the art of Hindu miniatures in a contemporary idiom in her solo show, in New York.

Women as an Active Voice
Fri, Apr 29, 2016

Italian photographer Bruna Rotunno presents women from Bali, their position and power as residents of the island.

Narratives from Nepal
Fri, Apr 22, 2016

A year after the devastating earthquake hit Nepal, Kathmandu-based Uma Shankar Shah brings an exhibition of paintings on steam engines, Bollywood posters and Hindu deities

Mythology Meets Metaphysics
Wed, Apr 20, 2016

S Nandagopal’s solo shows a penchant for interpreting traditional icons in modern ways.

Human Towers
Thu, Apr 07, 2016

Arun Pandit’s solo draws from his personal experiences

A Blooming Underground
Tue, Apr 05, 2016

An exhibition at the Jor Bagh metro station in Delhi offers commuters a window into the world of gardens

WCF: Undeterred by rain, international artistes put up a spectacle of cultures
Sun, Mar 13, 2016

The children were telling their own stories, of how they rebuilt their lives after Typhoon Haiyan.

The Empire Strikes Back
Sat, Mar 12, 2016

An exhibition at Tate Britain features artwork made in response to British rule in India.

Gurgaon Artistes’ Fest: In concrete jungle, a splash of colour through street art
Sat, Mar 05, 2016

Gurgaon Artistes’ Fest is an endeavour by the Gurgaon Action Plan (GAP) to add a cultural spirit to MG Road.

Weaving the India Story
Thu, Mar 03, 2016

An exhibition of Banarasi saris in the Capital showcases their origin, repertoire and contemporary expressions

On the White Road
Wed, Feb 24, 2016

Ceramic artist Vinod Daroz brings out the possibilities of ceramics in his latest solo.

Shah Rukh Khan walks down memory lane as he collects his bachelor’s degree after 28 years in Delhi
Thu, Feb 18, 2016

On Tuesday evening actor Shah Rukh Khan collected his degree from Rama Sharma, Principal, at Hansraj College.

Map My History
Sat, Feb 13, 2016

A 200-year-old sarai in Delhi is the muse for artist Asim Waqif’s latest exhibition.

Dissecting Cities
Tue, Feb 09, 2016

Architect Martand Khosla’s exhibition stimulates dialogue around issues of urban planning, migration and shelter.

Kolkata Chromosome
Mon, Feb 08, 2016

An exhibition unveils the hidden jewels concentrated in the neighborhood of Chitpur Road, one of Kolkata’s oldest roads, to reveal the grandeur of its crumbling palatial mansions and forgotten history.

Food for Art
Tue, Feb 02, 2016

UK-based duo Cooking Sections shares insights into what shapes their artistic practice based on food and the rationale behind their obscure artwork.

Aim for the Head
Mon, Feb 01, 2016

Pakistani artiste Ayesha Jatoi’s art involves public performances designed to shake and stir

Tryst with the Masters
Wed, Jan 27, 2016

An exhibition brings together some rare works by Masters of Indian art

The Poetry of Things
Thu, Jan 21, 2016

For Sudarshan Shetty’s latest exhibition, the artist finds inspiration in objects, buildings and accompanying memories

Bengal unboxed
Thu, Jan 14, 2016

As war plane motifs hover in the sky, a Kalighat-inspired image of Durga slaying the demon Mahishasura beside the scene, acts as a metaphor.

The Golden Reel
Tue, Jan 05, 2016

An exhibition brings together veteran photographer Raghu Rai’s most creative pictures taken in the last 50 years.

Voicing Concerns
Sat, Jan 02, 2016

At a day-long exhibition in Delhi, artists offered creative responses to ‘the climate of suffocation’.

Portrait of the Year in Art: Awards, protests and records
Mon, Dec 28, 2015

It was the year of making and breaking records, protest and prominence for Indian art and artists.

Silence Breaker
Tue, Dec 22, 2015

In the hope of changing mindsets, photo-journalist Smita Sharma documents stories of rape survivors in India.

Of Shared History
Mon, Dec 21, 2015

An exhibition comprising works of five Kerala artists chronicles a crucial movement in art history.

Painted Seasons
Mon, Dec 14, 2015

An exhibition reveals artist Gopal Ghose’s fascination for the Indian landscape and its rustic settings.

‘The Beatles’ come back to life in a corner of Uttarakhand
Fri, Dec 11, 2015

After two decades of neglect, state forest department reopens Maharishi Mahesh Yogi ashram in Rishikesh, where the band spent three months.