Pallavi Chattopadhyay

Profile

India as Her Muse
Fri, Apr 21, 2017

Singapore-based artist Joan Marie Kelly turns encounters with people into works of art

A Stitch in Time
Sat, Apr 15, 2017

Textile artist and designer Priya Ravish Mehra pays an ode to skilled darners, better-known as the rafoogars, in her latest solo.

Cultural Weaves
Wed, Apr 12, 2017

Put together by Harinder Singh and Kirandeep Kaur, owners of the Punjabi concept store 1469, the fourth edition of the festival celebrates the origin and journey of Gurmukhi script, which was born in Goindwal in Punjab five centuries ago.

Take a Chance
Thu, Apr 06, 2017

The multicultural Serendipity Arts Festival brings a slice of its Goa edition to the Capital

My city as a landscape
Wed, Mar 29, 2017

Sujith SN’s paintings are inspired by the ebb and flow of life in Mumbai.

Frozen in Time
Mon, Mar 27, 2017

In her solo show, Delhi-based Vibha Galhotra addresses issues affecting the environment and the state of urban development in the country.

Baby Steps: India’s first children’s literature festival, Bookaroo
Sat, Mar 18, 2017

As India’s first children’s literature festival, Bookaroo bags award at the London Book Fair, co-founders Swati Roy and Jo Williams talk about their journey.

Swara Bhasker: Bollywood is not a sarkari organisation that holds exams for merit
Thu, Mar 09, 2017

Swara Bhasker on her forthcoming film Anaarkali of Aarah, campus politics and nepotism in Bollywood

On the Record
Mon, Mar 06, 2017

A monumental art project by famed artist Vivan Sundaram and cultural theorist Ashish Rajadhyaksha tells stories of the Royal Indian Navy’s mutiny against the British Empire in 1946.

From Ash to Dust
Fri, Mar 03, 2017

Using ash as his medium, artist GR Iranna reflects on the impermanence of life and its transitory nature in his new instillation

Mind Over Matter
Thu, Mar 02, 2017

Bureaucrat Balvinder Kumar’s new book maps our emotional response to the world around us

Knowing the Unknown
Mon, Feb 27, 2017

Vappala Balachandran’s book focusses on Subhash Chandra Bose’ aide ACN Nambiar.

A Date with Paris
Thu, Feb 23, 2017

Photographer Rupin Thomas breaks down Paris into its landscapes, streets and quiet corners

The bull does not consider Jallikattu as a game: Elanchezhiyan Pichaikannu
Sat, Feb 11, 2017

Artist Elanchezhiyan Pichaikannu’s latest exhibition is inspired by the bull

Future of Design
Wed, Feb 08, 2017

Through the works of 20 young designers, an exhibition dwells on the concepts of nostalgia and upcycling

Joining the Dots
Mon, Feb 06, 2017

French art collectors Isabelle and Jean-Conrad Lemaître talk about their journey with video art and its impending future.

Nature of his work: A look at Paresh Maity’s work spanning over 40 years
Sat, Jan 28, 2017

An exhibition chronicles artist Paresh Maity’s watercolours spanning over 40 years.

House of Wax: Meet the man who brings Madame Tussauds figures to life
Fri, Jan 27, 2017

Steve Mansfield, principal sculptor of Madame Tussauds, on designing statues that will be showcased at the museum’s outpost in Delhi

The Devoted Artist
Tue, Jan 24, 2017

Artist V Ramesh draws from his childhood memories in his latest solo.

Madame Tussauds lends a sneak peek into their Delhi arm
Fri, Jan 13, 2017

Dressed in a sea blue bandhgala and jet black pants, actor Amitabh Bachchan bears a calm, bespectacled look, as his fingers clasp on to the ring adorning his finger as he lends a warm welcome to visitors in the ballroom of Delhi’s Shangri-La Hotel on Thursday afternoon.

Rite of Passage
Thu, Jan 12, 2017

Photographer Fanil Pandya captures the last generation of headhunters of the Konyak tribe in his latest solo

Storm in a Gallery: Delhi’s Exhibit 320 sheds light on endangered mangrove system in the country
Wed, Dec 21, 2016

The Delhi-based artist, through her work that spans prints, photographs, videos and installations, unveils tales of the various mangrove ecosystems in India, with special focus on the Coromandel and Malabar coasts.

Earthly Musings
Fri, Dec 16, 2016

The month-long Habitat Photosphere festival aims to raise awareness on environmental issues.

On the Move
Thu, Dec 15, 2016

An exhibition offers a glimpse into the everyday life of India’s pastoral communities

Skin Deep: The second edition of Heartwork Tattoo festival
Sat, Dec 03, 2016

In its second edition, the Heartwork Tattoo festival has 110 artists sharing their love for the needle.

A Cultural Dialogue: Slovenian artists showcase contemporary issues on canvas
Fri, Dec 02, 2016

Tina Dobrajc, a slovenian artist says she aims to create the fusion of “a national folklore garment and a sexually liberated female body” through her work, Cultural Death II.

A lonely planet 
Wed, Nov 23, 2016

An exhibition talks about man’s relationship with nature, while stressing on wildlife conservation.

No Child’s Play: Understanding your children
Wed, Nov 16, 2016

At the Express Masterclass for parents, psychotherapist Gloria Burrett will share secrets on how to be a better parent

Sign of Three
Wed, Nov 09, 2016

An exhibition in the Capital combines three solos from India and Sri Lanka to shed light on the current socio-political realities.

Temporal Beauty of Life
Mon, Nov 07, 2016

An exhibition pays tribute to ceramic artist Manisha Bhattacharya and her special love for porcelain.

Spin of India
Sat, Oct 22, 2016

Delhi-based artist Shelly Jyoti’s latest solo is a modern twist on khadi.

Making Dance, Not War
Fri, Oct 14, 2016

An exhibition puts the spotlight on the legendary performer Chandralekha and her pioneering body of choreographic marvels spanning 20 years.

Colours of Concern
Tue, Oct 11, 2016

Artist Praneet Soi draws inspiration from his everyday environment to paint multiple narratives for viewers.

Femme Land
Mon, Oct 10, 2016

A conclave on issues around women and gender in Delhi highlighted the challenges and promises in India’s current climate.

An Evening in Practise
Sat, Oct 08, 2016

‘Apophenic Talks’ lends a modern twist to the oral and visual representation of language, and spearheads public dialogue.

Museum of Memories
Tue, Sep 27, 2016

Archaeological sites and their conservation inspire the works of Debashish Mukherjee.