Nishant Shah

Profile

Nishant Shah is a professor of new media and the co-founder of The Centre for Internet & Society, Bangalore

Digital Native: Finger on the buzzer
Sun, Oct 22, 2017

Which Hogwarts House are you? No, you don’t really want to know.

Digital Native: There is no spoon, There is no privacy
Mon, Oct 09, 2017

It should be common knowledge by now, in our lived experiences of big data, that digital privacy is a battle ground.

Digital native: What’s in a name? Privilege
Sun, Sep 10, 2017

Anonymity-based internet apps like Sarahah may not be as vicious for those surrounded by the comfort of social status. If your experience of Sarahah has been positive, it might be good to reflect on your own cultural and social capital.

Digital native: You are not alone
Sun, Aug 27, 2017

Away from the guidance of adults, the internet can be a lonely place for youngsters, pushing them towards self-harm.

Digital native: Freedom: Error 404
Sun, Aug 13, 2017

Digital freedom remains a goalpost that we must keep moving towards. However, digital freedom, when posited as an adversary to personal freedom, should always lose. Our governments, policymakers and technosocial leaders owe it to us to create a digital India that puts people’s freedom first.

Digital native: Ever on the go
Sun, Jul 30, 2017

It is time to insist that the infrastructure of digital India is accompanied by the infrastructure of care for the digital Indian.When the telephone was first introduced as a mass communication tool, one of the biggest fears was that it would allow people to lie and cheat at will.

Digital native: Not only words
Sun, Jul 16, 2017

Emoticons, or if you prefer the original Japanese word emojis, are everywhere. We are used to emoticons in all shapes and sizes — from animated gifs jumping out at us on our social media feed to yellow-faced smileys that we use to add tone and feeling, nuance and layers to our text-heavy conversations in the digital world.

Digital native: On mute, the voice of the people
Sat, Jun 24, 2017

We are at the mercy of trigger-happy governments and profit-hungry corporations that hold our digital lives ransom. They have the capacity to censor, contain, control and eradicate all our digital data without our consent and without repercussions.

Digital native: In digiville attention is currency
Sun, Jun 11, 2017

The increased importance on attention and the lack of it on social media gives all the more reason why we need to be discerning about what we invest our attention upon.

Digital native: Look before you (digitally) leap
Sun, May 28, 2017

Creating a digital future is great, but there’s a serious need to secure the infrastructure first.

Digital native: Free speech? You must be joking!
Sun, May 14, 2017

India’s digital landscape is dotted with vigilante voices that drown out people’s right to free speech.

Digital native: Snap out of outrage mode
Sun, Apr 30, 2017

Rage at the inequality of the digital world is good. But why stop at the Snapchat CEO?

Digital native: Are You Still Having Fun?
Mon, Apr 17, 2017

Before you accept a fun app into your digital ecosystem, prepare yourself for the data you will be giving away.

Digital native: You can check out, you can never leave
Sun, Apr 02, 2017

Aadhaar is not something you define and opt into, it is something that defines you.

Digital native: Lie Me a River
Sun, Mar 19, 2017

The sea of social media around us often drowns the truth, exchanging misinformation for facts.

Digital native: Who will watch the watchman?
Sun, Feb 19, 2017

The state mining its citizens as data and suspending rights to privacy under the rhetoric of national security is alarming.

Digital native: Do not go Gently into the Good Night
Thu, Feb 09, 2017

If there’s a lesson to be learned from the resistance to the Trump administration, it is this — patriotism is not a feeling, it is an action

Digital native: Back at it Again
Sun, Jan 22, 2017

The Indian digital landscape has put us in a loop of hashtags and outrage, a space where we have mastered the art of shame

Digital Native: The Dream of the Cyborg
Sun, Jan 08, 2017

We have arrived at hybrid realities, where the technological and the human cannot be separated. The digital future we had once imagined is already here.

Digital native: People Like Us
Sun, Dec 18, 2016

How the algorithm decides what you see on your timeline.

Digital native: The View from My Bubble
Sun, Dec 04, 2016

In the digital world, the privileged have the power to deny a devastating crisis for the poor.

Digital native: The Voices in Our Heads
Sun, Nov 20, 2016

What if our phones were to go silent? Would you be able to deal with the silence?

Digital native: Mind Your Language
Sun, Nov 06, 2016

The lack of localisation on the Internet is a symptom of a larger problem.

Digital native: The future is now
Sun, Oct 16, 2016

The digital is not just an addition but the new norm in our lives, and it might not be all good.

Love in the Time of Tinder
Sun, Oct 02, 2016

Service providers and information aggregators mine our information and share it in ways that we cannot imagine.

Who Owns Your Phone?
Sun, Sep 18, 2016

The capacity of companies to defy standards that work tells an alarming story of what we lose when we lose control of our devices.

Quarter Life Crisis: The World Wide Web turns 25 this year
Sun, Sep 04, 2016

With the unexplained ban on websites, the state seems to have stopped caring for the digital rights of its citizens.

Do I Want to Say Happy B’day?
Sun, Aug 07, 2016

When it comes to greeting friends on their birthdays, social media prompts are a great reminder. So why does an online message leave us cold?

Book review: Apocalypse Now Redux
Sat, Aug 06, 2016

An engaging, if somewhat freewheeling, political critique of the times we live in.

One Pokémon to Rule Them All
Sun, Jul 17, 2016

America’s head start on the augmented reality game Pokémon Go shows that the interweb is not an egalitarian space

The gay pride charade
Sun, Jul 03, 2016

For most of the milllenials, news is formed by trends, what goes viral, and often open to speculation, projection, manipulation and deceit.

Digital native: Control A, Backspace
Sun, Jun 05, 2016

The rewriting of textbooks should not be compared to the collaborations on Wikipedia, which only goes by evidence.

Facebook: A platform with little less sharing of personal information
Sun, May 08, 2016

As Facebook becomes less personal, what happens to digital friendship?

Online censorship on the rise: Why I prefer to save things offline
Sun, Apr 17, 2016

As governments use their power to erase what they do not approve of from the web, cloud storage will not be enough.

A Large Byte of Your Life
Sun, Apr 03, 2016

With the digital, memory becomes equated with storage. We commit to storage to free ourselves from remembering.

The Digital is Political
Sun, Mar 20, 2016

To speak of technology is to speak of human life and living.