Thursday, May 28, 2015

NAMRATA ZAKARIA

Profile

nz

The girl with the front-row invite. Fashion columnist and consultant. Mumbai, India.

Flair and Square: Smooth As Silk
Wed, May 27, 2015

Watch Bombay Velvet for its ode to beauty and style.

Flair & Square: Yes, We Cannes
Wed, May 20, 2015

Cinderellas have no space in our new feminist world. Beauty is a spectrum of shades and sizes. And fashion belongs to a world far removed from real lives and true stories.

For most people, mothers and grandmothers are their first fashion icons
Wed, May 13, 2015

Fashion lessons that start from home.

Indian high street gets a fillip with Gap, H&M and Uniqlo coming soon
Wed, May 06, 2015

In the wings are Swedish behemoth H&M, and Uniqlo, Japan's answer to a large-format fashion store. Also in queue are Massimo Dutti, Abercrombie & Fitch and Topshop, smaller stores but with great fashion influence.

Makeup mogul Bobbi Brown on why her make-up is best on Indian skin
Wed, Apr 29, 2015

Makeup mogul Bobbi Brown on her first Mumbai store and why her make-up is best on Indian skin.

Flair and Square: I’ve Got An Issue, Do You?
Wed, Apr 29, 2015

Being beautiful and talented isn’t enough for actresses today, they must stand up for social causes too

I’m not for the weak-hearted: Designer Manish Arora
Sun, Apr 26, 2015

Why Manish Arora is one of the most successful Indian designers abroad, and how he does it.

How chikan crossed the road: The beloved Lucknowi kurta is a quagmire of controversy
Wed, Apr 22, 2015

Among the many treasures available in India, a universally beloved one is chikankari.

Summer’s Here: High temperatures don’t have to be low on style
Wed, Apr 15, 2015

High temperatures don’t have to be low on style.

Bespoke is the New Black
Sun, Apr 12, 2015

The Bombay Shirt Company offers customised shirts at Zara prices

Bespoke is the New Black
Thu, Apr 09, 2015

This week, the BSC has launched a capsule collection with model and actor Purab Kohli.

A Good Sport
Wed, Apr 01, 2015

Sports and fashion make the most interesting bedfellows.

Flair and Square: Jeers and Cheers
Wed, Mar 25, 2015

Fashion’s young talent gives one vindication and hope

Flair & Square: Insta Success
Wed, Mar 18, 2015

Fashion weeks tell us that everything we loathed about fashion is now driving the industry.

Flair & Square: Gumption Girls
Wed, Mar 11, 2015

Every day is Women’s Day in fashion and advertising.

Flair & Square: Decode Red
Wed, Mar 04, 2015

What really goes on behind actresses’s red-carpet looks?

Fine and Florentine
Sat, Feb 28, 2015

Stefano Ricci on his suits, his first India store, and being hosted by Ratan Tata.

And the award goes to…
Wed, Feb 25, 2015

Spectacles. All eyes on fashion’s biggest accessory.

Beauty Is As Beauty Does
Thu, Feb 19, 2015

Mumbai society’s It-girl is also one of its most successful entrepreneurs.

Flair & Square:Not so sari
Wed, Feb 18, 2015

Is that a Chanel kurta you’re wearing?

Flair & Square: First Lady, Last Thoughts
Wed, Feb 11, 2015

Why are wives of top politicians mere style icons?

Behind The Seams
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

An Indian-owned New York-based fashion label that ‘makes in India’ to support fair trade.

Flair & Square: English Manners, British Style
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

A surge of Britannia in popular culture brings all eyes on England.

Your handbag does not need its own chair
Wed, Jan 28, 2015

We now live in a world where we are judged on the basis of our designer totes. Showing it off as obviously as possible is considered quite alright.

Flair & Square: Shopping Smarts
Wed, Jan 21, 2015

Whatever happened to fashion’s favourite month? Who ate the January sale?

Personal is Pivotal
Mon, Jan 19, 2015

One of India’s most reticent fashion designers, Sonam Dubal, on taking it slow and steady

Flair and Square: The first woman
Wed, Jan 14, 2015

Anita Ekberg, who passed away recently, was called “the first woman on the day of creation”.

Flair & Square: Bob-sey Twins
Wed, Jan 07, 2015

Sonakshi Sinha and Anushka Sharma are playing with the short crop, just because.

Cleaning Out My Closet
Wed, Dec 31, 2014

A New Year is such a good time for a wardrobe cleanse.

Year of the Peacock
Wed, Dec 24, 2014

Santa Claus isn’t the only gentleman showing up in a velour suit

A Year In Style: Best of fashion trends in 2014
Fri, Dec 19, 2014

Fashion trends that made us sit up and take note, and sometimes let out a little wolf-whistle too.

Growing older is fine, it’s growing a tummy that worries
Wed, Dec 17, 2014

Any regular reader of this column will note that I am a savage ‘lookist’. I am a ‘size-ist’ too.

Man of the Momentum
Tue, Dec 16, 2014

India’s squash champion Saurav Ghosal on things that matter off-court.

Bhau Daji Lad Museum’s modern wing would be incomplete without a space for fashion
Wed, Dec 10, 2014

The Bhau Daji Lad Museum’s just-announced modern wing would be incomplete without a space for fashion and costume design

Why a college pressing for better dressed students is a good idea
Wed, Dec 03, 2014

School uniforms are welcome and wanted in India. But different countries have varied reactions to them.

New fashion show etiquette: Dress as indistinguishably as possible
Wed, Nov 26, 2014

The only trend du jour is normcore, dress as indistinguishably as possible