Saturday, Mar 28, 2015

NAMRATA ZAKARIA

Profile

nz

The girl with the front-row invite. Fashion columnist and consultant. Mumbai, India.

Flair and Square: Jeers and Cheers
Wed, Mar 25, 2015

Fashion’s young talent gives one vindication and hope

Flair & Square: Insta Success
Wed, Mar 18, 2015

Fashion weeks tell us that everything we loathed about fashion is now driving the industry.

Flair & Square: Gumption Girls
Wed, Mar 11, 2015

Every day is Women’s Day in fashion and advertising.

Flair & Square: Decode Red
Wed, Mar 04, 2015

What really goes on behind actresses’s red-carpet looks?

Fine and Florentine
Sat, Feb 28, 2015

Stefano Ricci on his suits, his first India store, and being hosted by Ratan Tata.

And the award goes to…
Wed, Feb 25, 2015

Spectacles. All eyes on fashion’s biggest accessory.

Beauty Is As Beauty Does
Thu, Feb 19, 2015

Mumbai society’s It-girl is also one of its most successful entrepreneurs.

Flair & Square:Not so sari
Wed, Feb 18, 2015

Is that a Chanel kurta you’re wearing?

Flair & Square: First Lady, Last Thoughts
Wed, Feb 11, 2015

Why are wives of top politicians mere style icons?

Behind The Seams
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

An Indian-owned New York-based fashion label that ‘makes in India’ to support fair trade.

Flair & Square: English Manners, British Style
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

A surge of Britannia in popular culture brings all eyes on England.

Your handbag does not need its own chair
Wed, Jan 28, 2015

We now live in a world where we are judged on the basis of our designer totes. Showing it off as obviously as possible is considered quite alright.

Flair & Square: Shopping Smarts
Wed, Jan 21, 2015

Whatever happened to fashion’s favourite month? Who ate the January sale?

Personal is Pivotal
Mon, Jan 19, 2015

One of India’s most reticent fashion designers, Sonam Dubal, on taking it slow and steady

Flair and Square: The first woman
Wed, Jan 14, 2015

Anita Ekberg, who passed away recently, was called “the first woman on the day of creation”.

Flair & Square: Bob-sey Twins
Wed, Jan 07, 2015

Sonakshi Sinha and Anushka Sharma are playing with the short crop, just because.

Cleaning Out My Closet
Wed, Dec 31, 2014

A New Year is such a good time for a wardrobe cleanse.

Year of the Peacock
Wed, Dec 24, 2014

Santa Claus isn’t the only gentleman showing up in a velour suit

A Year In Style: Best of fashion trends in 2014
Fri, Dec 19, 2014

Fashion trends that made us sit up and take note, and sometimes let out a little wolf-whistle too.

Growing older is fine, it’s growing a tummy that worries
Wed, Dec 17, 2014

Any regular reader of this column will note that I am a savage ‘lookist’. I am a ‘size-ist’ too.

Man of the Momentum
Tue, Dec 16, 2014

India’s squash champion Saurav Ghosal on things that matter off-court.

Bhau Daji Lad Museum’s modern wing would be incomplete without a space for fashion
Wed, Dec 10, 2014

The Bhau Daji Lad Museum’s just-announced modern wing would be incomplete without a space for fashion and costume design

Why a college pressing for better dressed students is a good idea
Wed, Dec 03, 2014

School uniforms are welcome and wanted in India. But different countries have varied reactions to them.

New fashion show etiquette: Dress as indistinguishably as possible
Wed, Nov 26, 2014

The only trend du jour is normcore, dress as indistinguishably as possible

All Roads Lead to Rome
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

Bvlgari’s first store in India promises a mix of old and new, and lots of blue

All Roads Lead to Rome
Sat, Nov 22, 2014

Bvlgari’s first store in India promises a mix of old and new, and lots of blue

Larger Than Life
Wed, Nov 19, 2014

Parineeti Chopra is a tall and well-built woman who claims she has struggled with her weight all through her growing-up years.

Blazer Glory: When in Mumbai, wear the jacket (too)
Wed, Nov 12, 2014

It is a perfect excuse to revisit a now permanent fashion staple — the summer jacket — since warm woollies aren’t for us at all.

The Shoe Fits
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Kolkata-based designer Rohan Arora who designs customised shoes is fashion industry’s best kept secret

Kolkata-based shoe designer Rohan Arora is fashion world’s best kept secret
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Kolkata-based designer Rohan Arora who designs customised shoes is fashion industry’s best kept secret.

Didier Grumbach’s legacy remains relevant to Indian couture
Wed, Nov 05, 2014

Grumbach was in Mumbai to speak at a luxury conference last week. He was among very few speakers who drew in a full house. Needless to say, Grumbach is a ‘fashion icon’.

Dazzle like a Diva: Dressing up for others
Wed, Oct 29, 2014

I have barely understood the concept of ‘dress for yourself’. Nobody dresses for one’s self.

Pasta for All
Thu, Oct 23, 2014

Renaissance great Sandro Botticelli. Ricci’s spokesperson says the label will be in India in six months.

Homegrown fashion designers team handloom with tailoring to a superb end
Wed, Oct 15, 2014

Printing and embroidery techniques that were only found on Indian ethnics are now the mainstay of our global wardrobe. India’s handloom history has become the focus of its sartorial language.

Tarun Tahiliani’s show for Sahachari had Mumbai celebrate like it’s the Nineties
Fri, Oct 03, 2014

Tarun Tahiliani’s show for Sahachari had Mumbai celebrate like it’s the Nineties

Does Paris still matter for Indian designers?
Wed, Oct 01, 2014

Indian designers have shown at Paris Fashion Week this season, but is the fashion capital of the world still a lure?