Monday, Dec 22, 2014

MANEESH CHHIBBER

Profile

Maneesh-Chibber02
SC orders fresh inquiry against HC judge
Fri, Dec 19, 2014

'Sexual Harassment’ - Ex-additional district & sessions judge says she will cooperate with panel

Centre moves to regularise 895 illegal colonies ahead of polls
Mon, Dec 15, 2014

Delhi govt has been asked to send formal proposal to Urban Development Ministry by next week

Not easy as A for app, B for babu
Thu, Dec 11, 2014

The government announced a nationwide ban on operations of Uber and other unregistered taxi services.

On black money, a reversal of roles: Congress speaks like BJP, BJP like Congress
Thu, Nov 27, 2014

Arun Jaitley maintained in RS that bringing back black money stashed abroad was a procedure which would take time.

Coal scam: Govt went out of its way to accommodate Hindalco, admits UPA Coal official
Wed, Nov 26, 2014

The file noting and the internal letter were among the documents seized by the CBI during searches.

Two faces of Kishtwar riots — one won’t vote, the other is contesting
Mon, Nov 24, 2014

BSP’s Des Bhagat lost his son, Waheeda’s husband had been burnt alive.

Months after his crude Modi reference, he gets a BJP ticket
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

‘How can you compare Modi with Rahul? Even when we buy a dog, we check its breed, lineage’.

‘Give me one chance, you won’t regret it’
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

Modi woos J&K, makes no mention of Article 370.

Narendra Modi: BJP candidates trump card in J&K
Sat, Nov 22, 2014

Ask him why he thinks he will win, Langeh, now a BJP candidate, replies, “Modi ji.”

Not just Hindalco, SPP red-flagged other coal cases to CBI chief
Wed, Nov 19, 2014

Cheema has written ‘six letters to Sinha pertaining to sketchy closure reports’.

In globalised world, children need to learn foreign languages: Kapil Sibal
Tue, Nov 18, 2014

Says move to introduce German in KVs was taken to integrate the two societies

Wary of fallout, government may delay call on changes in land law
Wed, Nov 12, 2014

The second sticking point is expanding the list of projects which are exempted under the Act by including infrastructure and defence projects.

Gujarat compulsory voting: Will you jail 8 crore voters who don’t? asks EC Brahma
Tue, Nov 11, 2014

A senior Election Commission official said that the EC’s view on making voting compulsory, as sought in a PIL pending in the SC, was being firmed up.

PM Narendra Modi expands Cabinet, shrinks some ministers
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Suresh Prabhu gets Railways, Manohar Parrikar Defence, others help BJP expand in poll-bound states

Government servants reluctant to declare assets, DoPT backs them
Sun, Nov 02, 2014

Lokpal act hurdle As govt departments differ, several options on the table; PM to take final call

EC to announce J&K, Jharkhand poll dates soon
Tue, Oct 21, 2014

Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and Election Commissioners H S Brahma and Nasim Zaidi toured the state last week to get inputs from locals and politicians.

Government moves to remove ex-CBI chief from UPSC
Sun, Oct 19, 2014

Article 317 provides for removal of a UPSC member from office on grounds of misbehaviour but only after being found guilty.

NHRC awards Rs 5 lakh to biker’s kin, Jung hikes it to Rs 50 lakh
Thu, Oct 16, 2014

The youths were allegedly part of a group of bikers who were performing stunts in the high-security area.

Blacklisting Rolls Royce will hit Jaguar fleet, AG told govt
Fri, Oct 10, 2014

The case before the CBI is that a commission ranging from 10 per cent to 11.3 per cent was received by Aashmore Pvt Ltd and Patni for the HAL contract.

EC seeks report from J&K CEO on holding polls
Mon, Sep 22, 2014

Incidentally, J&K Chief Minister Omar Abdullah has voiced his opposition to any move to postpone the polls and impose Governor’s rule.

Impeachment ball begins to roll for Judge Manjunath
Fri, Sep 19, 2014

The other three AAP MPs who have signed the petition are Bhagwant Mann, Sadhu Singh and Harinder Singh Khalsa.

Chinese President to arrive on Sept 17, bullet train, trade agreements on table
Wed, Sep 10, 2014

As expected, the Chinese leader has decided to postpone a visit to Pakistan now due to ongoing unrest in the country.

Finish trial in cases against MPs, MLAs in 1 yr: Centre
Sun, Sep 07, 2014

Law Minister asks states to appoint special public prosecutors for such cases.

Govt shows it doesn’t fear confrontation
Thu, Sep 04, 2014

Others have accused the government of trying to turn the clock back by handing over the judicial appointments to the executive.

‘Have highest respect for judiciary… its independence sacred’
Thu, Aug 28, 2014

He also said the NJAC will be more transparent than the collegium system.

Gwalior judge alleges sexual harassment: ‘You never visited me alone…see how I destroy your career’
Tue, Aug 26, 2014

The lady judge said she didn’t lodge a formal complaint against the HC judge as she wasn’t given an opportunity to do so.

Judicial Bill in SC, Centre gives nod for sending it to states
Mon, Aug 25, 2014

RS Secretariat will send the recently-passed 121st Constitutional Amendment Bill to states for ratification.

Sweeping change over 5 yrs: New panel to select 68% of judges in SC, 80% in all HCs
Mon, Aug 18, 2014

The Indian Express analyses ministry data for vacancies that will arise in SC, all 24 high courts till May 2019

Sibal says will challenge in SC, Fali Nariman asks was Minister under pressure?
Fri, Aug 15, 2014

Sibal was also a lawyer in the Second Judges’ case that established the collegium system.

Sibal breaks his silence on judges’ appointment: Bill flawed, courts will decide
Wed, Aug 13, 2014

Sibal clarified that he was speaking as a lawyer and citizen of the country, and not as a Congress leader.

Don’t sue each other, Modi govt tells ministries
Mon, Aug 11, 2014

During the UPA-II regime, the Committee on Disputes, which used to function in the Cabinet Secretariat, was disbanded.

Collegium system has failed, feels advocate who helped bring it
Mon, Aug 11, 2014

S P Gupta says system has outlived utility in absence of clear methodology for selection of able judges.

Cooling-off period for retired bureaucrats won’t stand judicial scrutiny: AG to govt
Sat, Aug 09, 2014

The poll panel had also expressed concern over a large number of 'senior civil servants' jumping into electoral fray.

Law panel head questions judicial Bill, advises a new one
Mon, Aug 04, 2014

Justice Shah termed the definition of misbehavior in clause 2(j) of the Bill as “over-inclusive and under-inclusive at the same time”.

‘Must take IB inputs with pinch of salt’
Fri, Aug 01, 2014

Former Attorney General Soli Sorabjee says collegium system of appointing judges should be junked.

Punjab & Haryana High Court: To stick with Manjunath’s name for CJ or not? SC yet to decide
Tue, Jul 29, 2014

Sources in the Ministry of Law also confirmed that the collegium has so far not informed the government about its stand on the issue.