Monday, Mar 02, 2015

JONATHAN SELVARAJ

Profile

Hockey India League: In new avatar, Ranchi Rays re-emerge as champions
Mon, Feb 23, 2015

Despite having heart in their mouth on more than a few occasion, Ranchi Rays won 3-2 in the shootout.

Rays in final after marathon shootout
Sun, Feb 22, 2015

For opposing sides in this season of the HIL, Jackson has been a constant menace.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Terrace talk
Fri, Feb 06, 2015

Across streets and mohallas, World Cup conversations are in full swing. Today’s topic is England’s twelfth man — the Barmy Army.

When BI Fernandez shaped kings of boxing
Sun, Feb 01, 2015

Reasons that made Fernandez, India's boxing coach, a success story and made Indian boxers world beaters.

Six months later, Dutee Chand returns a winner
Mon, Dec 29, 2014

Competing at the Orissa State Championships, Chand indeed delivered a clinical performance.

Abhimanyu Mithun runs the anchor leg
Thu, Dec 25, 2014

Having resumed on an overnight score of 131/1, Karnataka on 174/5 to set Railways a target of 251.

Aravind derails Railways
Wed, Dec 24, 2014

In 2011/12, Aravind only took 9 Ranji wickets at 49.44. A knee injury followed which ruled him out for 16 months and an entire Ranji season.

Ranji Trophy: Railways toil to no avail
Tue, Dec 23, 2014

Upadhyay finished with 7/98 as defending champions Karnataka were bowled out for 247.

Ranji Trophy: Railways pacers put Karnataka on the mat
Mon, Dec 22, 2014

Karnataka, surprisingly, opted to bat first before Railways bowlers reduced them to 207/7 on Day 1.

Ranji Trophy 2014: Karnataka firmly on track
Sun, Dec 21, 2014

In-form champions, with two wins in as many games, are favourites against Railways.

Ranji Trophy 2014: Mumbai go off rails in a session
Thu, Dec 18, 2014

Only Number 9 Javed Khan, who top scored with a 30-ball 27, saved Mumbai that ignominy.

Ranji Trophy 2014: Shardul Thakur’s career-best helps Mumbai gain lost time
Wed, Dec 17, 2014

Shardul Thakur finished with figures of 6 for 59 to help Mumbai bowl out Railways for 242 at the Karnail Singh Stadium.

Ranji Trophy: Mumbai players roll up sleeves after Super-sopper malfunctions
Tue, Dec 16, 2014

Some ten members of the team began soaking up the water and rinsing it into buckets.

Mumbai look to reboot season
Sun, Dec 14, 2014

After a shock defeat against J&K in the first round, 40-time champions seek to regain lost confidence as they take on Railways

Bhuvneshwar Kumar hopes to meet expectations on his maiden Australia tour
Sat, Nov 22, 2014

In conversation with Jonathan Selvaraj, India's Bhuvneshwar Kumar, explains his rare craft- swing bowling.

Devendro, Bidhuri bag World Series contracts
Thu, Nov 13, 2014

The situation was made worse in recent years when boxers couldn’t even compete in invitational tournaments after the Indian Federation was banned by the international body AIBA.

After Open gold, staying fit on top of Durgesh Pal’s agenda
Thu, Nov 06, 2014

While the national record of 49.51 is a long term goal, Pal is modest about his short term targets.

Post-Asiad high: VS Surekha breaks her own national record
Wed, Nov 05, 2014

Even as her competitors failed to move beyond 3.60m, Surekha cleared each subsequent jump with ease.

Next big thing from Sushil Kumar’s stable… runner Beant Singh
Tue, Nov 04, 2014

Beant SIngh, a young runner has a number of heroes whom he look up to, including Olympic silver medalist Sushil Kumar.

OP Jaisha wins gold, even as stars pull out
Mon, Nov 03, 2014

L Surya had been close on Jaisha’s heels but ultimately trailed in nearly 40m behind the winner.

With star athletes weary, juniors sense an opening
Sun, Nov 02, 2014

The National Open Athletics Championships, which begins at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Sunday, isn’t a laughing matter.

Back from the wilderness, Gurbaj Singh stays in his comfort zone
Thu, Oct 30, 2014

Once a regular in the national team, Gurbaj was one of the casualties of the squad after India’s debacle at the Olympics.

Never-say-die Ashok Dinda finishes off West Zone in remarkable win
Sun, Oct 19, 2014

Dinda’s final figures of 3/40 don’t really do justice to the way he terrorised the West’s batsmen.

Saurabh Tiwary shakes off West Zone’s grip, T20 tag
Sat, Oct 18, 2014

Saurabh Tiwary, who has represented India in ODIs, cracked 109 for East Zone, his 11th first-class ton.

Ankit Bawne ton gives West Zone first innings lead against East Zone
Fri, Oct 17, 2014

Ankit Bawne cracked a ton, his ninth first class century and second in consecutive years of Duleep Trophy.

On a rollercoaster, Manoj Tiwary enjoying the highs
Thu, Oct 16, 2014

Not for the first time had the Bengal batsman appeared to have made his mark but for fate to chose otherwise.

Indian Chief for India’s chief MS Dhoni
Mon, Oct 06, 2014

Dhoni spent much of his time at the Heritage Motoring Club of India stall that housed several vintage models.

Scandals: In the ring, on a loop
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Scandals have been as much a part of the sport as bloodied noses, hooks to the gut and grazed cheekbones.

I am who I am: Dutee Chand
Mon, Sep 29, 2014

With no other place to go to, Dutee headed home to Chaka Gopalpur, where she watched the CWG on television.

At last, Renjith books a ticket to Incheon
Sat, Sep 20, 2014

Having missed the mark at Federation Cup, Maheshwary had headed to the IAAF Intercontinental Cup in Morocco last week

Asian Games 2014: At last, Renjith Maheshwary books a ticket to Incheon
Fri, Sep 19, 2014

What shocked the triple jumper into finding his rhythm wasn't advice from his coach or a brainwave, but simply resignation.

Thingalaya equals national record
Wed, Aug 20, 2014

With Seema Punia not taking part in the women's discus throw, Krishna Poonia won the event.

High jumper Chittrasu equals meet record, books Asiad berth
Tue, Aug 19, 2014

It would have been enough to win a bronze medal at the last Asian Games.

Payoff after Sajeesh Joseph puts his own money where mouth is
Mon, Aug 18, 2014

Joseph had to spend from his own pocket to compete in the European Grand Prix in Belgium, Finland and Sweden.

Kheta Ram wins one for Indian coaches in Patiala
Sun, Aug 17, 2014

Ram had won the race with a time of 13:49:17 seconds, eclipsing the previous meet record of 13:52:64s.

At Federation Cup, time to compete and relax simultaneously
Sat, Aug 16, 2014

Joseph Abraham won gold at the last Asian Games.