• Associate Sponsor

George Mathew

Profile

Mushrooming gold loan business now under RBI scanner
Mon, Oct 31, 2011

No problem about banks which are entering into gold loan business.

RBI gets tough on prepayment penalty,discriminatory rates
Fri, Oct 28, 2011

After waiting and watching for quite some time,the Reserve Bank of India has finally decided to get tough against the discriminatory pricing of loans

RBI gets tough on prepayment penalty,discriminatory rates
Thu, Oct 27, 2011

Despite opposition from banks,the RBI is getting ready to stop prepayment penalty on floating rate loans and differential rates for old and new customers

First Indian to gatecrash global boardrooms
Thu, Oct 27, 2011

India Inc. veterans give much credit for ISB’s success to Gupta.

Sharp rate hike would have disrupted pace of recovery,says Subbarao
Wed, Oct 26, 2011

Reserve Bank of India Governor D Subbarao said a sharper rate hike to fight inflation would have disrupted the momentum of recovery.

Trend reversal: Indian firms’ hunger for overseas takeovers grows
Fri, Oct 07, 2011

There has been a reversal in the trend with Indian companies increasingly going abroad searching for potential takeover targets and investments.

IAS officer as next UTI chief? Shareholders split in last lap
Tue, Oct 04, 2011

LIC,SBI,BoB and PNB said to back Jitesh Khosla,brother of FM’s adviser.

Cibil plans to text credit score to your mobile phone
Mon, Sep 19, 2011

Credit Information Bureau of India is working on a plan to make credit scores available instantly on mobile phone of bank customers.

New project investments down over R1 lakh cr in current fiscal
Thu, Sep 15, 2011

The central bank has estimated that the capital expenditure already planned to be spent in 2011-12 aggregated to Rs 2,74,919 crore.

‘We have to watch rising bad loans very carefully’
Mon, Aug 29, 2011

The economic slowdown has put pressure on India Inc’s loan books.

‘Institutional investors should be more active on India Inc boards’
Tue, Aug 16, 2011

Yezdi H Malegam,former president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and a member of several committees.

‘MFIs can be regulated via four pillars of compliance’
Mon, Aug 15, 2011

YH Malegam says MFIs can be regulated through four pillars of compliance.

Indians hold gold worth $1 trillion
Wed, Aug 10, 2011

That works out to a princely sum of Rs 37,000 per person.

The Eurozone whirlpool
Tue, Aug 09, 2011

Stronger economies like Germany are being sucked in to bail out the weaker ones.

Global jitters spook Sensex — when real fear is local
Sat, Aug 06, 2011

Down 387: Silver lining is softening commodity prices; need reforms for investor sentiment.

‘If more firms opt for insurance,pricing will also become soft’
Tue, Jul 26, 2011

After a series of terror attacks,India Inc is taking a closer look at getting insurance cover.

India suffering investment flight
Tue, Jul 12, 2011

More money is going out than coming in - $44 bn was taken abroad by India Inc,just $7 bn came in.

Corporate India fund raising slumps 50%
Sat, Jul 02, 2011

* Mobilisation through IPOs,QIPs decline in H1 of 2011.

More FII money to Pak than to India
Fri, Jun 24, 2011

Whether Dalal Street likes it or not,India is now the worst-performing market in the world.

Bad loans to cross Rs 1 lakh-cr mark
Mon, Jun 06, 2011

Bad loans,or non-performing assets of banks are set to cross the Rs one-lakh crore mark in the current fiscal as the weakened asset quality of the banking sector.

Further market fall may trap promoters who pledged shares
Sat, May 28, 2011

The sustained depression in the stock markets has started giving nightmares to promoters of companies who have pledged their shares to raise money for various purposes.

India Inc’s interest costs jump 34.4%,set to rise further
Mon, May 16, 2011

The battle against inflation has started taking a toll on borrowers in the corporate sector

‘Impact of interest rate on housing demand less in mid-income segment’
Mon, May 02, 2011

If you were planning to buy a house 20 years ago it would have cost 20 times of your annual income.

Silver dream run raises fears of bubble
Tue, Apr 26, 2011

White metal breaches Rs 75K mark,shoots up 165%t in last 12 months; No credible explanations for the rally,say analysts.

Returns on India’s $303 billion forex reserves plunge to 2%
Sat, Mar 26, 2011

This is not even sufficient to cover the inflation level of 8.31 per cent,indicating the forex kitty has been giving a negative return after adjusting inflation.

PN flows to derivative segment rise
Mon, Mar 21, 2011

However,participatory notes investment by foreign institutional investors in cash market.

Rajat Gupta: Corporate climb,insider info
Fri, Mar 04, 2011

Former Mckinsey chief Rajat Gupta is being probed in an insider trading case in the US.

Wilful defaulters divert Rs 2,800 cr
Fri, Feb 25, 2011

Wilful defaulters are borrowers who have the capacity to repay but default deliberately!

Indian stock mkt world’s worst performer
Mon, Feb 14, 2011

Indian stock markets show negative return of -15.29% while China,Russia fare better.

Takeover code,stock exchange ownership issues await new Sebi chief
Fri, Feb 04, 2011

Sinha inherits an organisation which has now developed into a strong regulator with established norms and guidelines for all market intermediaries.

Investors flock to gold ETFs
Mon, Jan 17, 2011

One investment segment continued to attract investors in droves—from Kashmir to Kanyakumari.

RBI exempts investment cos of big groups from CIC norms compliance
Mon, Jan 10, 2011

Big industrial groups,which are controlled by promoters through their investment companies,have got a big relief with the Reserve Bank of India exempting them from registration and compliance of its core investment companies (CIC) regulations.

Importers will remain happy
Sat, Jan 01, 2011

Many economists say the rupee is going to strengthen further.

Pain for borrowers,but savers will gain
Sat, Jan 01, 2011

It’s going to be a mixed year for people on the money front.

Year of the IPO Boom
Wed, Dec 29, 2010

Rs 69,192,000,0000 is the amount that Indian companies raised from the markets through IPOs.

‘No individual alone can take investment decisions in LIC’
Thu, Dec 23, 2010

With an asset base of Rs 12 lakh crore,Life Insurance Corporation is,without any doubt,the largest financial institution in the country.