Tuesday, May 26, 2015



Manipur agriculture minister sexually harassed delegate at World Youth Summit, alleges youth activist
Sun, May 24, 2015

Kangujam alleged that the minister Abdul Nasir had asked two women delegates to his room in a hotel where they had put up, promising them money.

Manipur: Teen killed in police firing
Wed, May 20, 2015

The incident occurred on Sunday night when a group of young men were returning from a picnic in two vehicles from Selheipung Garden.

Youth shot at by Manipur Police for refusing to stop at checkpoint succumbs to injuries
Tue, May 19, 2015

Family and friends of the victim have called for an indefinite strike on the Imphal-Ukhrul road demanding the termination of all the commandos involved in the incident.

Curfew imposed in Imphal, 8 members of banned outfit held
Fri, May 15, 2015

The two masons died when they were taken "into custody" by the underground group during interrogation by the cadre members.

Dog Meat Row: ‘It’s a tug-of-war between way of life and modern outlook’
Wed, May 13, 2015

Elephants which may stray into Manipur from Myanmar are sought after and hunted as well.

World War II: Heroes of Forgotten Army get visitors on 70th anniversary
Fri, May 08, 2015

Manipur’s guest list for the recently concluded commemoration included dignitaries from countries which took part in the battle.

‘To be a craftsman in a language is incredibly difficult’
Sun, Feb 15, 2015

At the first-ever reading of Flood of Fire in India, Amitav Ghosh talks about his connections with Manipur.

The Big Picture: This road goes to a smart city
Sun, Feb 08, 2015

Haollenphai, located right on the Indo-Myanmar border, is set to change. It was named as the site of one of Narendra Modi government’s much-touted 100 smart cities.

A Slice of Royalty
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

The last published book by Manipur’s MK Binodini Devi gives us a glimpse into the past and present of the northeast state.

Irom Sharmila released from custody, refuses to go with her supporters and breaks down
Fri, Jan 23, 2015

This is the second time in a year that Sharmila has been released.

In Nagaland power tussle, CMs former, present and hopeful
Mon, Jan 19, 2015

CM Zeliang has called for a confidence motion on Tuesday, but the rebels are not keen on it.

Nagaland CM calls for Jan 20 floor test
Sat, Jan 17, 2015

Rebels say Zeliang ‘foreign account’ being used to lure MLAs, he says charge ‘political desperation’

Nagaland CM Zeliang faces rebellion
Wed, Jan 07, 2015

Former CM Rio backs rebels; NPF suspends 7 legislators.

Nagaland’s ruling NPF suspends 7 dissident MLAs
Tue, Jan 06, 2015

The party said that the members have been suspended for associating themselves with 'detractors and deviators'

Mass grave found on Imphal school campus
Mon, Dec 29, 2014

The compound was used as a camp by the 49 Battalion of the CRPF for more than 20 years.

Bomb blast in Imphal’s high security area kills 2
Tue, Dec 16, 2014

Police sources said that the bomb was planted inside a betel leaf basket.

Modi’s Northeast visit: Manipur, Nagaland wait for PM push on peace talks
Sat, Nov 29, 2014

Narendra Modi to flag off 19.75 km-long Dudhnoi-Mendipathar line today.

‘She told me to get her from police station as early as possible’
Tue, Nov 25, 2014

Probe into Manorama death, slamming AR and indicating ‘sexual assault’, was kept under wraps for 10 yrs.

Who was Irom Sharmila: A look at the life she has lost, and memories that sustain her
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

Who was Irom Sharmila before her extraordinary protest against the AFSPA took over her existence? As her fast enters its 15th year, a look at the life she has lost, and the memories that sustain her.

A Little India in Myanmar, with Hindi classes and an RSS branch
Thu, Nov 13, 2014

Descendants of farmers brought from UP, Bihar, they celebrated Modi’s win.

I believe PM Modi will repeal AFSPA from Manipur: Irom Sharmila
Thu, Nov 06, 2014

People see me as a separatist. But, I am struggling for India’s integrity, she said.

From mud-&-thatch hut to mansion, father narrates Mary Kom’s story
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Mary's nephews, a cousin and several aspiring boxers, including two girls live with the family.

At Sarita Devi’s home, it’s like a death in the family
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Sarita’s loss in a controversial decision in the semis has been no less painful than a death in the family.

Bomb blast in Manipur’s Ukhrul district kills two
Thu, Sep 18, 2014

It has nothing to do with the recent violence or incidents which have taken place in Ukhrul, said Ningshen.

Three days after her release, anti-AFSPA activist Irom Sharmila re-arrested from protest site
Fri, Aug 22, 2014

Sharmila has been taken back to her ward at the JNIMS to be force fed through her nose.

I want to eat, help me, join my struggle: Irom Sharmila’s message on first day out
Fri, Aug 22, 2014

The crowd, who had only seen Sharmila in photographs printed in newspapers, garlanded her.

Stature a worry for govt, can come in her way too
Thu, Aug 21, 2014

Irom's fight against what is perceived as a draconian law has made her more than just an icon.

Her tube off, fast still on, Irom Sharmila is free
Thu, Aug 21, 2014

“I will continue my fast until AFSPA is repealed once and for all", she said.

Irom Sharmila released, will Manipur government move HC now?
Wed, Aug 20, 2014

Question is if state government will come up with to ensure that she can be taken into custody again.

Irom Sharmila released from hospital detention
Wed, Aug 20, 2014

A civil rights activist, Irom has been force-fed through her nose for over a decade now.

Court orders release of Manipur activist Irom Sharmila
Tue, Aug 19, 2014

Sharmila has been on fast for past 13 years to demand withdrawal of AFSPA from Manipur.

From Manipur, stories of the women actors who didn’t get to play Mary Kom
Sun, Aug 17, 2014

The Manipuri film industry is a vibrant one, with as many as 80-100 movies being made a year.

Sushma Swaraj discusses trade, insurgency with Myanmar
Tue, Aug 12, 2014

Swaraj raised the issue of insurgent outfits and outfits banned by India setting up bases in Myanmar during her meeting with Myanmar President.

South China Sea shadow over Asian meets; China isolated but unmoved
Mon, Aug 11, 2014

India backs freedom of navigation, access to resources in SCS waters.

India, Aus to expedite civil n-deal; South China Sea dispute raised
Sun, Aug 10, 2014

The two countries also discussed the civil nuclear agreement and agreed to expedite the process.

India keen to enhance Asean ties
Sun, Aug 10, 2014

This is the first time in 17 years after the admission to Asean that Myanmar has Chaired the grouping.