Friday, Dec 19, 2014

AVISHEK G DASTIDAR

Profile

Railways bid to make journeys musical hits royalty hurdle
Mon, Dec 15, 2014

Railways’ attempt to add music to journeys to and from Kolkata has hit an unforeseen roadbloack: a price tag.

India’s fastest train may derail existing ones
Thu, Dec 11, 2014

Gatimaan Express will require slower trains to step aside and let it pass.

Hyundai ‘hid’ info: Delhi Metro mega contract under scanner
Tue, Dec 09, 2014

In April 2013, the DMRC awarded a contract of 486 coaches for the Phase-III of Delhi Metro to Hyundai Rotem.

Zonal Railway sat on file to secure unmanned crossings
Fri, Dec 05, 2014

Appointment of 50 gate counsellors at unmanned level-crossings could have prevented the accident.

Zonal railway sat on file to secure unmanned crossings
Fri, Dec 05, 2014

On October 29, the ministry even reminded all zones that non-implementation of the instructions were causing such accidents.

Sreedharan questions govt over crucial railway posts lying vacant
Tue, Dec 02, 2014

The post of Member Electrical has been vacant for months. Two more Members will be retiring by December 31.

China seeks to fund India’s first rail university, wants say in curriculum
Mon, Dec 01, 2014

As of now, the Railways is struggling with some teething trouble in its quest to set up the first university.

Focus on rail projects as Modi visits Northeast
Thu, Nov 27, 2014

The PM will visit Assam the ensuing weekend. Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Chairman of the Railway Board Arunendra Kumar will also be there.

Govt plans subsidised train tours to popularise Northeast
Fri, Nov 21, 2014

Trains with special coaches to bring in students from across India.

Railways may put chair cars instead of sleeper cars for overnight journeys: Suresh Prabhu
Thu, Nov 20, 2014

Sources said routes like Delhi-Jammu, Delhi-Lucknow, Delhi-Varanasi or even Delhi-Patna during summer or festive rush would be serviced better if the idea fructifies.

Railways ‘special cell’ to deal with green issues
Mon, Nov 17, 2014

The new government is working on ways to clear 28 rail projects across India.

Sreedharan set to return to Railways
Fri, Nov 14, 2014

Will chalk out procedure to ensure accountability.

Suresh Prabhu: Finish projects on time, claim 2 per cent of cost as reward
Thu, Nov 13, 2014

The top speed decisions have made Prabhu’s intentions and style of functioning clear to top officers in the Railways, sources said.

Railways on new track: 17 sectors could get 100 pc foreign, private investment
Wed, Nov 12, 2014

Ministry identifies 17 areas under FDI guidelines.

Suresh Prabhu gets going, asks officials to prepare white paper
Tue, Nov 11, 2014

A Standing Committee member told The Indian Express that the meeting could not take place as the MPs treated this as a show of disrespect.

Why Sadananda Gowda was gently shunted out
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Devoid of any big idea to lead the ministry that has the biggest people connect, Gowda was increasingly being seen as someone out of his depth, unable to get work done.

Bihar: LJP ready to contest less seats for ‘greater strike rate’ on BJP side
Fri, Nov 07, 2014

LJP sources said the feelers from the BJP is that it will get to contest about 45-odd seats.

Best drivers with ample rest behind most train accidents
Fri, Nov 07, 2014

The analysis has shown that 84 per cent of the accidents were caused by experienced drivers.

Ailing Lalu set to get notice to vacate bungalow
Wed, Nov 05, 2014

The market rent of the Type-VIII bungalow — meant for senior MPs and cabinet ministers— is around Rs 1 lakh a month.

Rlys seeks help to disburse funds for acquired land
Mon, Nov 03, 2014

The railways has sought intervention from the highest levels of the government.

Government gives go-ahead to 4 strategic rail lines along China border
Wed, Oct 22, 2014

Rly Ministry told to begin detailed survey.

Railway Board reforms panel may push for decentralisation
Fri, Oct 17, 2014

The Railway Board is staring at a season high-level vacancies and a bit of crisis in its high-level promotions process.

Centre to specify standards for products
Wed, Oct 15, 2014

DIPP to identify commodities in which India has competitive advantage over China.

New govt body to have power to initiate product recalls
Tue, Oct 14, 2014

If there is complaint about a newly launched car, chances are a large number of cars will have the same problem.

Railways fits in Gujarat in model stations plan
Mon, Oct 13, 2014

Surat, Gandhinagar stations to have airport-like facilities; Dahod loco workshop to be modernised.

Gowda cuts short Railways award list
Fri, Oct 10, 2014

Over the years, the awards system had faced allegations of favouritism, at the cost of excluding the truly deserving.

Punished for not supplying toilet paper to Rly chief’s home: Official
Tue, Oct 07, 2014

Railway Board chairman Kumar replies: ‘We don’t use toilet rolls at home’

PM plans social media challenge to clean India
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Modi will kick off a nationwide challenge by cleaning a portion of a road and then “tagging” some prominent persons to do the same.

Counting losses, Railways may stop paying for counting cash
Wed, Oct 01, 2014

Old rule allows cashiers to earn extra money, sometimes more than salaries.

Rail project to raise coal output set to miss deadline
Mon, Sep 29, 2014

Jharkhand, Orissa, Chhattisgarh yet to hand over land.

Sweep stations on Gandhi Jayanti, rail ministry tells its officials
Tue, Sep 23, 2014

Instructions come after PM said he wanted to see cleaner stations, trains.

By November, a Rajdhani to Arunachal
Mon, Sep 22, 2014

State agrees to relax the rigid norm of inner-line permit for passengers with reserved tickets.

To make trains run faster, Rlys to get help from China
Thu, Sep 18, 2014

Of the eight semi-high speed corridors one will be handed over to China to conduct technical studies, sources said.

Can wind from moving train generate power? PMO’s curious query to Railways
Mon, Sep 15, 2014

Rail Bhawan officials said that the idea was not workable and they would communicate this to the PMO.

Railways extends ‘experimental’ stops of trains
Sat, Sep 13, 2014

Will first write to Members of Parliament explaining why the stops have to be done away with

Railways to review policy on Group D staff as domestic help
Thu, Sep 11, 2014

The PMO is now keen to grant an allowance instead of letting officers retain the staff as domestic help.