ASHOK GULATI

Profile

Ashok-Gulati

The writer is chair professor for agriculture at ICRIER. Views are personal

Drones and doves
Sat, Jul 04, 2015

In the long run, India will have to invest more in irrigation and better water management. But for the short term, our crop insurance system needs an overhaul.

More dal, less bhaat
Thu, Jun 18, 2015

Government should devise a crop-neutral incentive structure to attract farmers to pulses over paddy.

From Plate to Plough: Modi sarkar’s toughest test
Mon, Jun 08, 2015

It is agricultural reform. Without focus on agri GDP and a sectoral overhaul, ‘sabka saath, sabka vikas’ will remain a slogan

Prepare for the rainless day
Thu, Jun 04, 2015

A tussle is on between El Niño and the Indian Ocean Dipole. Government cannot afford to be a bystander.

The weakest link
Mon, May 25, 2015

Among the Modi government’s many hits was one crucial miss — agriculture.

From plate to plough: Padyatras, politics, policies
Mon, May 11, 2015

Rahul Gandhi will help farmers more if he focuses on how policies are implemented

If it doesn’t rain
Tue, May 05, 2015

We need a contingency plan that combines real-time technology with robust insurance and easy credit.

A bitter crop
Tue, Apr 28, 2015

Current rural distress is not about land acquisition. It is rooted in the low viability and high volatility of agriculture.

From plate to plough: A Baisakhi gift for the farmer
Mon, Apr 13, 2015

A major overhaul of the crop insurance system is needed. This is a good time to do so

Lead from the Centre
Mon, Mar 30, 2015

To invest more in agriculture, Union government has to reorient food and fertiliser subsidies by moving to cash transfers.

Silence on the farm
Mon, Mar 02, 2015

Budget should have rationalised food-fertiliser subsidies to raise agri-investment.

A fertile mess
Thu, Dec 11, 2014

Administered prices and subsidy policies have landed the fertiliser industry in trouble. It is time to decontrol and unshackle.

A field of disagreement
Fri, May 09, 2014

The Gujarat model continues to generate more heat than light.

Growth pull,not MGNREGA push
Tue, May 07, 2013

Rising costs of labour must be absorbed by increased agricultural productivity

Sweet taste of freedom
Tue, Apr 09, 2013

For the sugar sector to grow,its players must buy and sell freely