Monday, Mar 02, 2015

ADITI RAJA

Profile

Hope floats as Hiran river bridge’s design finalised
Wed, Feb 18, 2015

The bridge will be diagonal from Chamarwada in Sankheda to Kareli in Chamarwada.

‘The way they threw my husband to the ground… I’m scared’
Sat, Feb 14, 2015

Her nephew Dakshesh said that Shakuntala has been 'disturbed' ever since her son conveyed the news of the assault.

‘Assault would not have happened to a skinny white grandfather’
Sat, Feb 14, 2015

Patel’s attorney says cops may have thought they would get away as he couldn’t speak English.

VMC submits draft of delimited wards to EC
Thu, Feb 12, 2015

The VMC elections will have four corporators each for 19 wards, making a total of 76 as against the previous 75.

This Valentine’s Day, Hindu hardliners to preach message of love — with a twist
Fri, Feb 06, 2015

Invitations have also been sent to all schools and colleges in the city to join the first-ever “Mata-Pita Pujan Divas”.

Statue of Unity: Geological survey of site under way, construction to start soon
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

After a detailed report of the geological survey, the work on laying the foundation for the monument will commence.

Urs at Juni Gadi Dargah blurs communal lines
Wed, Jan 28, 2015

The Urs Committee comprises several Hindus along with the Muslim members.

Vadodara mayor calls US a ‘country which runs factories producing terrorists’
Tue, Jan 27, 2015

In a major embarrassment facing the Vadodara BJP, the mayor made the controversial statement.

Meeting called to pacify district-level leaders
Tue, Jan 20, 2015

The meeting was attended by representatives of the Vadfest Committee.

3 BJP MLAs to shun Vadfest
Sat, Jan 17, 2015

They have questioned the rationale behind “selling tickets” for a city festival.

Gujarat: One dead in Anand communal clash over kite-flying on Makar Sankranti
Thu, Jan 15, 2015

The police said that the clash although communal in nature - was restricted to the two families.

In a first, Environment dept to recreate natural habitat to treat injured birds
Wed, Jan 14, 2015

Two rooms in the social forestry Kamatibaug office have been designed to comfort injured birds.

Godhra RSS school urges students to collect money for Madhav Vidyapeeth
Thu, Jan 08, 2015

The students are busy collecting “donations” for their sister-concern RSS school, Madhav Vidyapeeth.

After 4 years, state’s fastest runner gets a national track
Mon, Dec 08, 2014

Vaishnavi Vaghela’s stellar performance at the Delhi Marathon earned her a selection into the month-long national athletics camp

Vadodara actress who put herself ‘on sale’ on Facebook says sorry for ‘breaking the law’
Mon, Dec 01, 2014

There are 167 missed calls and countless messages advising her to refrain from selling herself.

Vadodara-based NRIs home burgled in Vadodara; thieves decamp with Rs 5.46 lac
Wed, Nov 26, 2014

The Panigate police station in Vadodara has registered a case of house break-in by night and theft against "unidentified persons".

Gujarat: Sankheda declared cholera hit
Wed, Nov 12, 2014

Two persons died and over 300 were taken ill after drinking contaminated water.

Vadodara’s near-perfect murder
Sun, Nov 09, 2014

An adopted daughter, an unemployed boyfriend, two dead parents, and cans of acid that ensured the bodies remained hidden for two months.

Indian companies no match for Chinese sewing machine manufacturers: Gujarat govt
Thu, Nov 06, 2014

28,000 machines bought from Feiyue group as no Indian firm had multi-stitch machines

Old Vadodara shuts down for Muharram
Tue, Nov 04, 2014

In a departure from usual practice, the tazias reached Sarasiya lake without loudspeakers and DJs.

In Vadodara, saffron, green flags vie for supremacy
Sun, Nov 02, 2014

Commissioner of Police says the city force is prepared to ensure that no violation of law and order occurs during the festivities.

Anticipating trouble, Narmada turns fortress ahead of Statue of Unity ceremony
Fri, Oct 31, 2014

"After inputs that tribals are planning to barge into the event with black flags, we are taking no chances," said a police officer.

Experts to analyze CCTV footage in Vadodara Museum theft case
Tue, Oct 28, 2014

The theft was discovered by a peon, who opened the museum on Sunday.

‘Forgotten’ as a tribe, they cross river to assert identity
Thu, Oct 16, 2014

Till noon, the booth had seen a 60 per cent voter turnout, despite there being only one EVM machine.

Pushed to ‘nowhere land’ by Narmada dam, tribals of a Maharashtra hamlet swim against political current
Tue, Oct 14, 2014

In absence of livelihood from farming, about 60 young men from the village, currently work in various under-construction sites in Surat.

Vadodara: A strained show of normalcy…
Sat, Oct 04, 2014

Vadodara had last seen a major riot in 2006 when six people were killed after clashes over razing of a dargah.

Uneasy calm prevails as police continue combing operations
Wed, Oct 01, 2014

Residents from both communities allege that they are being targeted by the police who are clueless about the real perpetrators

Shall We Dance? Garba ground is the backdrop to countless romances
Sun, Sep 28, 2014

The garba in Gujarat is an opportunity for young men and women to meet, mingle and fall in love — no matter what their caste or religion.

Vadodara communal clashes: Police arrest history-sheeter Garasiya
Fri, Sep 26, 2014

Crime Branch will question Garasiya on Friday about his role in Thursday's incident of rioting.

Amid talks of love jihad, Vadodara garba organisers tread cautiously
Wed, Sep 24, 2014

The organisers here have also installed additional CCTV cameras to spot suspected “romeo” male participants.

Kids who swam to school now cruise
Sun, Sep 21, 2014

Motorboat donated by NRI couple takes village children across Gujarat river quick, safe and dry.

VHP steps up campaign against ‘love jihad’
Sat, Sep 20, 2014

Writes to Narmada district police chief seeking to prohibit Muslims from garba grounds

Kids swim across river to hear about Hiran bridge
Sat, Sep 06, 2014

All this to mark their presence for Teachers’ Day at school, which also included a live address by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Sangramsinh’s royal family celebrates Ganesh puja
Mon, Sep 01, 2014

Sangramsinh and his family immersed the idol on Sunday, after three days of ritualistic reverence.

Vadodara bypoll: BJP banks on Modi charm, Cong gives a ‘wake-up’ call
Mon, Sep 01, 2014

Bhatt did a road show in Sayajigunj and inaugurated two party offices in Akota and Raopura. Bhatt has promised to work for the people of Vadodara.

On Ganesh Chaturthi, Modi ‘magic’ goes larger-than-life
Sat, Aug 30, 2014

The Vishva Kunj Society pandal has an idol of Modi, carrying an idol of Lord Ganesha on a plank.