Punjab: Captain Amarinder Singh takes oath today, HS Phoolka is Opposition leader

All Punjab MLAs, including Aam Aadmi Party and SAD-BJP, too have been invited.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi/chandigarh | Updated: March 16, 2017 8:29 am
Punjab elections, Punjab election results 2017, Amarinder Singh, Amarinder Singh swearing in, Congress wins Punjab, Punjab CM, Punjab Congress, Rahul Gandhi swearing in ceremony, Punjab Rahul Gandhi, India news Captain Amarinder Singh (PTI Photo/File)

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh will lead the Congress team at the swearing-in ceremony for Captain Amarinder Singh as the Punjab Chief Minister on Thursday. Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh Virbhadra Singh, who is related to Amarinder, and former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda, will also be present.

All Punjab MLAs, including Aam Aadmi Party and SAD-BJP, too have been invited. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was, however, not invited, said AAP. Meanwhile in Delhi, senior AAP leader and advocate H S Phoolka was elected Leader of the Opposition by the AAP legislature party at a meeting held at party chief Arvind Kejriwal’s residence.

Sukhpal Khaira, who had quit the Congress to join AAP, was unanimously elected the chief whip of the party in the House. Sources said that the AAP MLAs have been briefed to take the ruling Congress head on right from day one and to raise critical questions.

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App

  1. MarG G
    Mar 16, 2017 at 3:53 am
    MatharPhaacker. This H. S. Phoolka was invited on every news channel to give legal advice and all the time he used to go against BJP no matter whatever was the situation.lt;br/gt;Now I realize why.lt;br/gt;He was a Phaacking AAP stooge.
    1. V
      Mar 16, 2017 at 2:43 am
      This AAP is useless without any thing in mind just making problem to congress and helping to BJP this is problametic party which has no solution one day our janta will realize what is cpacity of Arvind Kejriwal.... even Ana Hazare also oppose him several time from which branch he came out...Jai Hind