Amarinder Singh takes oath as Punjab CM for 2nd time, Sidhu is cabinet minister

Congress' Amarinder Singh took oath as chief minister today. Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and former PM Manmohan Singh were present.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 16, 2017 2:21 pm
Amarinder Singh, Captain amarinder singh, amarinder singh takes oath, amarinder singh cm, punjab cm, Punjab congress, congress punjab, Oath taking ceremony, Punjab assembly elections 2017, Punjab election results 2017, BJp, AAP, Manmohan singhm Rahul gandhi, navjot singh sidhu, sidhu, punjab news, indianews, indian express news Captain Amarinder Singh takes oath as Punjab CM. (Source: Express photo by Nirupama Subramanian)

Captain Amarinder Singh took oath as the chief minister of Punjab today at the Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh paving way for the return of the Congress to power in the state after a gap of ten years. In the recently-held Assembly elections, the Congress was victorious in 77 seats, successfully thwarting the challenge of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and decimating the incumbent Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) alliance.

Watch |Amarinder Singh Takes Oath As Punjab CM While Navjot Sidhu Sworn In As Cabinet Minister

Attended by former prime minister Manmohan Singh and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, the swearing-in ceremony saw Navjot Singh Sidhu, who left the BJP for the Congress before elections, taking oath as a cabinet minister. Sidhu was speculated to get the deputy chief minister’s post, but it did not eventually happen. Both Sidhu and Amarinder Singh hail from the state’s Malwa region. Sidhu, after being administered oath by the Punjab Governor, touched Singh’s feet as a mark of respect.

Gandhi later told reporters, “I thank people of Punjab for showing faith in us. We will work for the state tirelessly.”

Navjot Singh Sidhu being administered oath of office and secrecy (Express photo )

Some of the other ministers who took oath include Manpreet Singh Badal, Razia Sultana, MLA from Malerkotla, Aruna Chaudhary, Rana Gurjit Singh and Brahm Mohindra.

While all the Punjab MLAs, including AAP, SAD and BJP MLAs, were invited, Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal was left out. Kejriwal and Singh were engaged in a war of words during election campaigning.

(L-R) Manmohan Singh, Rahul Gandhi and Himachal CM Virbhadra Singh in attendance

After the AAP emerged as the main opposition party in the Assembly, HS Phoolka, who was victorious from Dakha, was nominated as the leader of opposition. The AAP has 20 MLAs in the Assembly.

For all the latest Elections News, download Indian Express App

  1. I
    IML sood
    Mar 16, 2017 at 1:56 pm
    Why Khujli was not invited, very simple, he does not deserve. Look at the history of AAP who fought elections in Goa and Panjab with much fanfare. In Goa out of 39 seats AAP fought, won Zero,lost security deposit in 38 out of 39. In Panjab out of 117, won 20, lost security deposits in 20, and lost remaking seats. With their reported efforts of taking the help of even radicals in Panjab, does anyone can trust them. How Khujli can think of any invite in any such function.
    1. A
      Mar 16, 2017 at 8:22 am
      Sidhu is the minister of jokes and entertainment
      1. Amit Bhattacharjie
        Mar 16, 2017 at 6:09 am
        Its good news to know that Kejri wasn't invited. He would have started another road-side agitation and blaming the new CM for it.
        1. K
          Mar 16, 2017 at 11:20 am
          punjab peoples are wise not other state who chose feku party
          1. Kameng Dorjee
            Mar 16, 2017 at 6:51 pm
            Congratulations Captain Amarinder Singh, Punjab is your victory not of the Congress, I hope the Congress realizes that the "dynasty" is not working fro them anymore.
            1. Load More Comments