WARNING: Facebook’s latest glitch will repost your old statuses without permission

A new glitch on Facebook is reposting old statuses for users on their Timelines without their permission

By: Tech Desk | Updated: December 10, 2016 1:04 pm
Facebook, new facebook glitch, facebook sharing old posts without permission, old posts shared on facebook randomly, embarrassing facebook moment, twitter, twitter glitches, social media embarrassing moments, mark zuckerberg, technology, technology news Facebook had another huge glitch in its system last month when it falsely declared two million people, along with its CEO

If you have ever looked at old photos and updates and cringed, thinking what was wrong with you back then; there is some rather terrifying news for you. A new Facebook glitch is randomly reposting old statuses (even months old) on the timeline. This glitch comes just weeks after another embarrassing moment for the social networking giant, after it declared thousands of its users dead; including its CEO Mark Zuckerberg.

Facebook already dredges up the digital memories of your past through its ‘On This Day’ and ‘Year In Review’ features, but those only show up on your timeline if you share them. The new glitch is posting old statuses without any permission or prior notification for some users. Many Facebook users took to Twitter reporting the glitch,

One Twitter user, @Username_Sarah tweeted that she had deactivated her Facebook account after it reposted some 30 old posts without her permissions. “Staying away until I know it’s safe” she said in her tweet.

Another Twitter user, @nauernotmauer said in a tweet that dozens of his old posts appeared on his timeline after he updated his Facebook app on iOS last night.

It is yet not clear if the glitch has anything to do with the Facebook apps iOS update. A Facebook spokesperson spoke to PCMag and told them that Facebook was aware of the issue and is investigating it.

According to Gizmodo, the reposted content had its timestamps altered by the new glitch, which makes it look like it has been posted recently on the Facebook timeline.

Facebook had another huge glitch in its system last month when it falsely declared two million people, along with its CEO dead by memorialising their accounts. Facebook users had taken to Twitter sharing details, talking about receiving sobbing phone calls from loved ones and friends over the eulogy messages set on their timeline.

Read: Facebook declares Mark Zuckerberg, two million others dead

@facebook I updated the iOS app last night and it has since reposted dozens of old posts like they were new ones all by itself.

— Mike (@nauernotmauer) December 9, 2016

Deactivated my Facebook because it decided to repost about 30 old posts without my permission. Staying away until I know it’s safe #dramatic

— Sarah ♡ (@Username_Sarah) December 9, 2016

In another embarrassing moment last month, Twitter accidently suspended its own CEO’s account temporarily before reinstating it a few hours later.

For all the latest Technology News, download Indian Express App

    Live Cricket Scores & Results