Facebook Privacy: Here’s how you can decide who sees your posts

Facebook privacy explained: How to create restricted lists, unfollow people on News Feed and more.

Written by Shruti Dhapola | Published:September 16, 2016 4:33 pm
Facebook, Facebook privacy, Facebook audience for posts, Facebook privacy post, Facebook restricted list, Facebook how to change privacy, Facebook restricted list how to create Facebook Privacy: Here’s how you can pick the right audience for your post, create restricted lists and do more. (Source: Facebook screenshot)

On Facebook, privacy is a crucial feature that we can’t ignore. Of course, it starts with having the right password (password123 or your name123 are not the correct answers), but the privacy settings on Facebook can often be confusing. You might think you’re sharing some posts only with your friends, but these might actually be public. Also there are ways of ensuring that not everyone on your friends list can see everything that you post online.

We explain how you can improve your Facebook privacy settings:

Choosing the right audience for your post: Every time you post something new like say a photo or a status update or even share an article link on Facebook, you can change the settings for that post and choose the audience. Before you hit post on something, Facebook mentions the audience next to the post button. If you’ve gone with Friends as the default setting, Friends will show; if Public is default then a little world symbol will show. This means anyone on Facebook can view this content, irrespective of whether they are friends with you or not. So be careful when you decide to go public. This can be useful though when you’re turning to Facebook for help, like say looking for blood donors for a relative or a friend. Or you can even keep a post as only me. This means even your friends can’t see the post.

Yes, you can change the audience even after you publish a post: Say you posted a photo that had public as the settings and now you want to change it. Next to the photo or post, you should see the globe symbol (aka the audience setting indicator), click on it and there will an option to change it. Once again you can choose to restrict something to just friends, or yourself, or even open up a photo to everyone on Facebook.

Facebook, Facebook privacy, Facebook audience for posts, Facebook privacy post, Facebook restricted list, Facebook how to change privacy, Facebook restricted list how to create Facebook also has the option of restricted list to limit which of your friends can see your post.

Creating a restricted list: So you’ve added someone as a friend, but you don’t want them to see what you post; there is a way to do this without unfriending them. Go to the Friends tab on the left-hand side on the dekstop version of Facebook, and just hit the More option on top. You’ll see your friends organised on the basis of lists, like say people you went to school, college with. At the bottom there should a restricted list option, just hit on that and you can start adding friends.

You can always remove people from this list as well or add new ones. Anyone on the restricted list will only see your public posts; anything else you post which has friends as the setting, these people won’t be able to see, even though they are technically your friends. Good way to block out relatives or annoying colleagues.

Also read: Facebook to rollout new technology for Trending Topics to stop fake stories

Unfollowing friends on News Feed: In case you think adding someone to the restricted list is too cruel, but you can’t be bothered with their annoying updates on the News Feed, there is a way out. Next time they post something, just click on the little drop down menu that appears next to their post, and you can either hide the post or ‘unfollow’ them. Or you can go directly to their profile page, and just hit ‘Unfollow’ from the Following setting.