Apple iPhone 7 review blog: Processing power is no issue, but there was a surprise

Apple iPhone 7 is here and we'll be reviewing the device in this blog. Read on as we test the camera, performance of this device.

Written by Nandagopal Rajan | Updated: September 22, 2016 7:46 pm
Apple, Apple iPhone 7, Apple iPhone 7 review, iPhone 7 review blog, iPhone 7 review price, iPhone 7 camera samples, iPhone 7 features, iPhone 7 specs, iPhone 7 India launch, iPhone 7 India price, mobiles, smartphones, technology, technology news Apple iPhone 7 review blog: Here’s what we think of the new phone.

Apple iPhone 7 is still a couple of weeks away for most Indians. However, that hasn’t prevented at least some people from bringing in the devices from other markets where the phone has been successfully launched.

We were fortunate enough to get our hands on one of these devices and will have it with us for a couple of days. We will use the opportunity to live with the new iPhone 7 and see how much of a better experience is it offering. I am currently using the Apple iPhone 6s Plus, and will try and compare the two phones in terms of camera, speed and performance.

Below, see the comparison between the new iPhone 7 and last year’s iPhone 6s Plus camera. Both have 12MP rear cameras, but the iPhone 7 uses an f/1.8 aperture which gives it better performance in low light. You can see this extra light clearly in the image below.

Here is my experience using the new Apple iPhone 7:

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20167:46 pm

Apple iPhone 7 versus iPhone 6s switch on challenge. Guess which one is faster?

A video posted by Nandu79 (@nandagopalrajan) on

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20167:44 pm

There was a real surprise when we checked the start times of the iPhone 7 and iPhone 6s. Guess who won?

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20167:43 pm

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20162:32 pm

I just ran the Antutu benchmark on the iPhone 7. The results are really top notch at 175416. To put that in perspective the iPhone 6S was 125601. You can’t really compare iOS and Android Antutu scores, but yes these figures are above what those phones are scoring at the moment. However, the benchmark test again results in the phone heating up bit.

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 201611:03 am

By the way, the audio quality is much better and louder than before. The dual speakers do make a huge difference. However, I was really expecting Apple to do what it has with the iPad Pro which without doubt has the best audio in any mobile device. But the iPhone 7 audio is now good enough for you to forget the earpods once in a while. Yes.

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 201610:55 am

Today, we will test the processing power of this phone. So far everything has worked smoothly.

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20168:17 am

The camera again is awesome. But now I really want to play with that iPhone 7 Plus camera which I know is better.

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20168:16 am

There is surely a bit of heating with the phone, even when it is charging.

Nandagopal Rajan September 22, 20167:20 am

The battery life is about 10-12 hours with moderate use, which not much of an improvement. This is clearly one area where Apple can improve and offer a better experience to users.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20166:42 pm

The daylight photos are as good as you would expect it to be on the iPhone. As you can see, I have played a bit with focus.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20166:37 pm

Here is another iPhone 7 photo for you to consider.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20166:36 pm

We will talk about the process and speeds tomorrow. However, let’s talk more about the camera. That is one aspect where this phone has really improved from its predecessor. This one has a better camera in comparison to the iPhone 6s, and maybe even the iPhone 6s Plus. I’m not that sure about the latter as I found the photos to be a bit too bright for my liking. As you can see in the side-by-side comparison above, the new phone has brighter photos, but I still like the iPhone 6s Plus photo better.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20161:48 pm

This photo shows the low light capabilites of this phone. It is sure impressive.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20161:42 pm

The Taptic feedback on the home button reminds me a bit of an old 10 paisa tin clicking toy we used to play with in junior school. The response is immediate and you know it is working, but you will take some time getting used to it. I hope third-party developers will find better uses for this.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 20161:37 pm

One of the first things I have noticed is a slight heating of the phone even when it is on Wi-Fi. Ths could be because the Internet is not really up to the mark. We will keep you posted.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 201612:02 pm

Everyone seems to have a problem with the headphone jack being removed. But for people buying a new Apple iPhone 7 it won’t be a big deal as you will get the new earpods. For those hung up on using the 3.5mm jack headphone they love, there is always the adapter in the box. Yes, it is an appendage, but nothing you can live without.

Nandagopal Rajan September 21, 201611:55 am

We have a black model of the iPhone 7, not the Jet Black, just the black which is matte and more subtle. It is a head-turner no doubt and is one of the most stylish phones around. There is no real difference in design, but the muted antenna bands give the phone some extra style quotient.