Wrestling: Bajrang wins gold for India in 65kg

Bajrang won the first gold medal for India in Pune Mayor’s Trophy by beating Mongolia’s Batchuluun Batmagnai 6-4 in 65kg final.

By: Express News Service | Pune | Updated: October 9, 2016 8:22 am
Pune Mayor’s Trophy International Invitational Wrestling, bajrang, pune wrestling, india wrestling, pune wrestler bajrang, sports news, indian express news Match between India’s Mandeep Singh and Uzbekistan’s Mukaramov Sukhrobjon in the 97-kg group. Nitin and Jitender settled for silver medals.

Freestyle wrestler Bajrang gave India the first gold medal of the Pune Mayor’s Trophy International Invitational Wrestling competition by beating Mongolia’s Batchuluun Batmagnai 6-4 in the Men’s 65-kg category final. The competition was held on Saturday at the Late Rajaram Bhiku Pathare Primary School’s Vithoba Maruti Pathare Indoor Stadium. Coming into the final after beating Tilek Sharsheev of Kyrgyzstan in the semifinal and Andre Svyryd of Ukraine in the first round, Bajrang was confident enough to take on the Mongolian as he won 6-4 to a rousing welcome from the crowd.

In the other two weight categories that were finished, Indian wrestlers settled for silver medals — Nitin losing to Kyrgyzstan’s Ulukbek Zholdoshbekov 7-1 in the final and Jitender losing 4-7 to Iran’s Bahman Teymouri in the 74-kg class. Jitender had beaten Kyrgyzstan’s Ilgiz Ozhakypbekov in the semifinals and Oleksiy Shcherbak of Ukraine in the first round. In the 57-kg class, Nitin was completely outpointed by Ulukbek Zholdoshbekov of Kyrgyzstan 7-1. Nitin had, however, made it to the final, beating fellow Indian Bharat Patil in the semifinals and Tajikistan’s Hikmatullo Vohidov in the first round.

Kolhapur women dominate

In the Women’s Open class, Kolhapur dominated the bouts by winning four gold medals. Disha Karande, Swati Shinde, Vishranti Patil and Nandini Salunkhe won the gold medals. Pune girls Komal Gole, Manisha Divekar and Sakshi Shelar gave home fans something to cheer about by winning gold medals in their respective weight categories. In the Boys Under-12 class, Vedant Pawar, Anuj Takale, Ayush Takale and Vedant Zhunzurke, all of Mukund Gymnasium, and Jainath Talim’s Harshwardhan Dhankavade, Dhanraj Shirke and Shreyas Khopade won the gold medals in their respective weight categories. In the Boys Under-14 class, Durgesj Charwad and Omkar Dagade of Hanuman akhara won the gold medals.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.
Live Cricket Scores & Results