Sania Mirza, Martina Hingis make winning start in the Californian desert

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis brushed off the challenge of Australian pair of Casey Dellacqua and Samantha Stosur to win in Indian Wells.

By: PTI | Indian Wells (california) | Updated: March 12, 2016 4:30 pm
Sania Mirza, Martina Hingis, Santina, Mirza Hingis, Sania Martina, Sania Hingis 2016, Sania Hingis results, Sania Hingis Indian Wells, Indian Wells tennis, tennis news, tennis Sania Mirza (L) and Martina Hingis progressed with ease in Indian Wells. (Source: Reuters File)

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis saw off the challenge of Australian team of Casey Dellacqua and Samantha Stosur to move to the second round of the BNP Paribas Open.

The top seeded Indo-Swiss pair defeated their rivals 6-3, 7-5 in just 68 minutes in their opening round of the $6,844,139 hard court event.

Sania and Martina saved four of the six breakpoints they faced in the match and broke their rivals five times in the
tight contest.

They next face local girl Vania King and Russia’s Alla Kudryavtseva, who beat Germany’s Anna-Lena Groenefeld and Czech Republic’s Barbora Strycova 4-6, 6-3, 10-5.

In the men’s event, Rohan Bopanna and his Romanian partner Florin Mergea, seeded fifth, are up against Spanish team of Feliciano Lopez and Marc López in their first round.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: March 12, 2016 4:22 pm
  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

34th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune