Saketh Myneni to lead field in men’s invitation tennis event

Saketh Myneni along with Vishnu Vardhan, Mohit Mayur, Sanam Singh, Nitten Kirtane, Jayesh Pungaliya and Aryan Goveas will participate in the tournament.

By: PTI | Mumbai | Updated: November 30, 2016 12:02 am
saketh-myneni_pti-m Saketh Myneni would lead the field in Rs 10.5 lakh prize money invitation All-India Super 8 men’s tennis championship. (Source: PTI)

India’s no.1 ranked tennis player Saketh Myneni would lead the field in Rs 10.5 lakh prize money invitation All-India Super 8 men’s tennis championship at the Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana Club (JVPGC) courts from December 1 to 4.

Besides Myneni, the eight-player field also includes current national champion Sriram Balaji, former national champions Vishnu Vardhan and Mohit Mayur, besides Sanam Singh, Nitten Kirtane, Jayesh Pungaliya and Aryan Goveas, the youngest player in the field.

The eight players would be divided into two groups, who will play a round robin league, with the top two players advancing to the semi-finals.

The singles winner stands to gain Rs 2 lakh, while the runners-up would take home Rs 1.50 lakh and the losing semi-finalists Rs 1 lakh each.

The losing quarter-finalists also stand to make Rs 75,000 each.

The doubles winning pair will earn Rs 1 lakh with the runner-up team gaining Rs 60,000 and the losing semi-finalists Rs 20,000 each.

The tournament is being sponsored by the family of Anil Sampat, a former General Secretary of JVPGC who passed away last year.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


36th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

37th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

38th T20

04:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

39th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Gujarat Lions

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

40th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 2, 2017 .

Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi