Telangana Chief Minister felicitates CWG medal winners, hands out cash awards

The Chief Minister also gave away cash awards to the badminton coaches P Gopichand and Mohd Arif.

By: Press Trust of India | Hyderabad | Published:August 16, 2014 12:27 am
PV Sindhu felicititated by Telangana Chief Minister on Independence Day in Hyderabad. (Source: PTI) PV Sindhu felicitated by Telangana Chief Minister on Independence Day in Hyderabad. (Source: PTI)

There was a bonanza for several sportspersons here today with the Telangana Government presenting cash awards to players like Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu and Gagan Narang for bringing laurels to the country and the state in events such as Commonwealth Games.

Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao gave away the cash awards to 10 players and also badminton coaches P Gopichand and Mohd Arif during the Independence Day celebrations held at the historic Golconda Fort here, an official release said.

Badminton ace Nehwal was presented Rs 50 lakh and Rs 20 lakh, respectively, for winning bronze medal in 2012 London Olympics and Australian Open women’s singles title.

Shooter Narang was given Rs 50 lakh, Rs 25 lakh and Rs 15 lakh, respectively, for bagging bronze medal in London Olympics, silver in 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Shuttler P Kashyap received Rs 50 lakh and Rs 25 lakh, respectively, for securing gold in CWG men’s singles and reaching the quarter-finals in 2012 Olympics men’s singles.

Badminton star PV Sindhu got Rs 25 lakh and Rs 15 lakh for winning bronze in 2013 World Championship and another bronze in CWG women’s singles.

Young badminton player RMV Gurusaidutt was given Rs 15 lakh for securing a bronze medal in the Commonwealth Games.

Badminton doubles specialist Jwala Gutta was presented Rs 25 lakh for winning the silver medal in Commonwealth Games in women’s doubles.

Boxer Nikhat Zareen got Rs 50 lakh for her gold medal in world international boxing event in 2010.

Kabaddi player Mamata Pujari, who won gold medal in 2012 World Cup championship, received Rs 25 lakh.

Young shuttler Srikanth Kidambi was given Rs 3 lakh for reaching the quarter-finals at CWG. Gymnast B Aruna Reddy got Rs 3 lakh for playing in CWG.

Gopichand, Chief National Coach, was presented Rs 50 lakh cash award, while another badminton coach Arif received Rs 25 lakh.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


29th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 25, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali