Mary Kom punches her way into Asian Games squad, Akhil Kumar makes a return

Mary, who missed the CWG, made the cut by defeating Pinki in trials; Akhil is making a comeback after 4 years.

Mary-Kom_m Mary Kom, who lost to Pinki Jangra in the CWG trials, this time defeated her to qualify for the Asian Games. (Source: Express File)
By: Press Trust of India | New Delhi | Updated: September 11, 2014 4:29 pm

of injury problems and now I am just going to focus on staying fit and giving my hundred per cent,” he added.

The ace boxer also thanked Dr. Sanjay Vats, who has been treating him for the past year.

“I met Dr. Vats through Olympic gold-medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, who is a dear friend. I feel that having people like him and wrestler Ravinder Sangwan, kept me motivated to get back at the top of my game.”

Akhil, whose last national appearance was way back in the 2011 World Championships, also thanked Sports Authority of India and Haryana Police, his employers, for their continued support.

“They have supported me and the continue to support so many sportspersons. It is incredible how they let us focus on our sporting requirements, and go all out to ensure that we are aided in every which way by their efforts. I really wish to extend my gratitude for their help in my efforts,” said Akhil, who completed his training for the DSP’s position during the sabbatical from the ring.

The rest of the men’s team does not offer too many surprises. Commonwealth Games silver-medallists L Devendro Singh (49kg), Mandeep Jangra (69kg) have expectedly made the cut.

Star boxer Vijender Singh’s injury-forced sabbatical opened the gates for Vikas Krishan, the 2011 Word Championship bronze-medallist in the 64kg division.

It is a comeback for Vikas as well after injuries kept him out of the limelight following the 2011 mega-event.

Teams for Asian Games:

Men: L Devendro Singh (49kg), Madan Lal (52kg), Shiva Thapa (56kg), Akhil Kumar (60kg), Manoj Kumar (64kg), Mandeep Jangra (69kg), Vikas Krishan (75kg), Kuldeep Singh (81kg), Amritpreet Singh (91kg), Satish Kumar (+91kg).

Women: M C Mary Kom (51kg), L Sarita Devi (60kg), Pooja Rani (75kg).

First Published on: August 27, 2014 8:12 pmSingle Page Format
Do you like this story