2016 Kabaddi World Cup: 12 teams, 1 grand global title

12 out of 32 Kabaddi playing countries will participate in the fortnight-long tournament, which will be concluding on October 22.

Written by Saundarya Mehra | Updated: October 7, 2016 6:02 pm
Kabaddi World Cup, Kabaddi World Cup 2016, Kabaddi World Cup India, India Kabaddi World cup, Kabaddi teams, India kabaddi team, kabaddi news, Kabaddi It will be the first time that 12 countries will participate in the history of Kabaddi World Cup.

With India all set to host the third edition of the Kabaddi World Cup, the International Kabaddi Federation, officially kicked off the tournament in the presence of captains of the 12 competing nations. Billed as the “biggest Kabaddi extravaganza” with wide representation, it will be the first time that 12 nations will participate for one grand title in Ahmedabad. All the matches will be held at the brand new TransStadia Arena in the capital of Gujarat.

The groups from India, USA, England, Australia, Iran, Poland, Thailand, Bangladesh, South Korea, Japan, Argentina and Kenya made their goals clear for a definitive confrontation of quality, expertise and strategy.

Live Kabaddi Score, World Cup 2016: India take on South Korea in opener

Janardan Singh Gehlot, President, International Kabaddi Federation said, “This is a watershed moment for the sport of kabaddi globally. The International Kabaddi Federation has been working to develop Kabaddi as a competitive discipline. With 2016 Kabaddi World Cup, the sport is all set to breakthrough on a global stage. There is a lot of excitement among all participants and we are sure that the same energy will be transferred to the fans watching it in stands and screens across the world. It gives me immense pleasure to see such diversity in the participation. I am sure the teams will inspire many more people in their countries to take up the sport.”

12 captains resounded the same feeling that taking an interest at a global occasion of this stature will accumulate all the more fan following in their respective nations. 2016 Kabaddi World Cup will be played in a round robin league format, followed by semi-finals and the final on October 22. India, who are the two-time defending champions, have dominated the sport since the 1990’s – winning seven gold medals at the Asian Games as well as lifting the previous two World Cup titles in 2004, 2007, respectively.

Teams are divided into two pools of six teams each. In Pool A, there is India, South Korea, Australia, England, Bangladesh and Argentina, while Pool B comprises of two-times runners-up Iran,Thailand, Japan, the United States, Poland and Kenya.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    amandeep mishra
    Oct 7, 2016 at 6:44 am
    What is your opinion? I know you can do it
    1. A
      Arita Jha
      Oct 15, 2016 at 10:38 am
      No,any one can't know.
      1. S
        Nov 14, 2016 at 5:54 am
        World cup championship is our INDIANS only................
        Live Cricket Scores & Results