Sergio Perez finishes 8th for Force India in United States GP

Sergio Perez finished 8th while, McLaren's Jenson Button and Romain Grosjean of Haas completed the top 10.

By: PTI | Austin | Published:October 24, 2016 6:01 pm
Force India, F1, Sergio Perez, perez, Perez US Grand Prix, US Grand Prix, United States Grand Prix, Motor Sports, Force One, F1, Sports news, Sports Starting 11th from the grid, Sergio Perez jumped up three places to finish inside top 10. (Source: AP)

Sergio Perez drove a fine race to finish eighth and secure four points for Force India even as his teammate Nico Hulkenberg retired early following a crash in the opening lap at the United States Grand Prix.

Starting 11th from the grid, Perez jumped up three places to finish inside top 10 and consolidate Force India’s fourth position in the Constructor’s standings with 138 points.

However, Hulkenberg and bumped into Valtteri Bottas of Williams in the first corner, hurting his race. The German had to retire at the end of the opening lap.

Just not Hulkenberg, Perez too encountered a horrible opening lap as Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat spun the Mexican in Turn 11.

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton remained in the hunt for his fourth world title when he stylishly won his fifth United States Grand Prix ahead of teammate championship leader Nico Rosberg at the Circuit of The Americas yesterday. It was also Hamilton’s 50th career win.

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo took the final podium place ahead of Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari, McLaren’s Fernando Alonso, Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz and Williams’ Felipe Massa.

Perez, McLaren’s Jenson Button and Romain Grosjean of Haas completed the top 10.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


36th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

37th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

38th T20

04:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

39th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Gujarat Lions

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

40th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 2, 2017 .

Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi