• Associate Sponsor

India women’s hockey team wins Asian Champions Tophy: Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulates on Twitter

The result comes less than a week after India men's hockey team beat arch-rivals Pakistan to reclaim the Asian Champions Trophy.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: November 5, 2016 9:47 pm
India womens hockey team, Asian Champions Trophy, India Asian Champions Trophy hockey, Narendra Modi, Narendra Modi India hockey, India hockey Narendra Modi, Sports India women’s hockey team poses for a picture after the title win in Singapore.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday congratulated India women’s hockey team after they won the Asian Champions Trophy hockey tournament. They beat China 2-1 in the thrilling final to lift the title in Singapore.

“Congrats to our women’s hockey team for winning the Asian Champions Trophy 2016. It is a great moment for Indian hockey. @TheHockeyIndia,” the Prime Minister wrote on his twitter handle.

The result comes less than a week after India men’s hockey team beat arch-rivals Pakistan to reclaim the Asian Champions Trophy in Kuantan, Malaysia.

Before this result, India’s best outing in the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy came in the last edition in 2013 when they finished runner-up to Japan.

Twitterati went crazy after India’s recent feat and congratulatory messages came from all quarters. From the men’s team to Sachin Tendulkar to hockey coach Roelant Oltmans, everyone took note of the achievment and praised the show on social media.

India were locked at 1-1 with China in the fourth quarter when Deepika produced a stunning winner to hand India the title in the dying moments of the game. The final hooter was less than 20 seconds away but that time was enough for India’s ace forward to find the back of the net.

This win completes a good week for both men’s and women’s hockey teams as both return home with Asian Champions Trophy titles.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. N
    Nov 5, 2016 at 5:19 pm
    Congratulations and celebrations. The achievement will certainly bring more confidence in resurgence of Indian Hockey. Appreciate efforts by coaches and administration to bring this trophy home. Jai Hind.
    Live Cricket Scores & Results
    indian super league 2017 schedule

    indian super league 2017 points table