India, Pakistan clubbed in same group in Asian Games hockey

The winners of both the men's and women's section will directly qualify for the 2016 Olympics in Rio.

By: Press Trust of India | New Delhi | Updated: September 11, 2014 4:29 pm

India have been clubbed alongside arch-rivals and eight-time champions Pakistan in the 10-nation men’s hockey competition at the 17th Asian Games to be held in Incheon, South Korea from September 19 to October 4.

In Pool B, besides defending champions Pakistan and India, the other competing nations are China, Oman and Sri Lanka.

Last edition’s runners up Malaysia, South Korea, Japan, Bangladesh and Singapore complete Pool A.

Meanwhile in the women’s competition, India will compete against title holders China, Malaysia and Thailand in Pool A while the Pool B consists of 2010 runners up South Korea, Japan, Kazakhstan and Hong Kong China.

According to information received here, the complete schedule of the hockey event of the Asian Games will be declared soon.

The Asian Games hold great significance for the hockey nations of the continent as the winners of both the men’s and women’s section will directly qualify for the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


36th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

37th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

38th T20

04:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

39th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Gujarat Lions

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

40th T20

08:00 PM (IST) May 2, 2017 .

Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi