‘Proud’ Twitterati congratulates India for beating Pakistan to win ACT 2016

India lift the Asian Champions Trophy 2016 with a 3-2 win over arch rivals Pakistan

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: October 31, 2016 9:59 pm
hockey759 Rupinder Pal Singh scored the first goal for India. (Source: Twitter)

India defeated Pakistan in the Asian Champions Trophy final held in Malaysia on Sunday. With this India won the tournament for the first time in five years.

India had taken a second quarter lead of 2-0 but Pakistan nicked one at the end of the quarter. Pakistan levelled the score in the third quarter and then the two teams exchanged attacks. India finally clinched the winning goal through Nikkin Thimmaiah.

Rupinder Pal Singh continued his form into the final and was the one who opened the scoring for India in the 18th minute. He is the top goalscorer of the tournament. Pakistan were defending champions after. Rupinder was later declared player of the tournament. India had earlier met Pakistan in the same tournament. The match was a thriller and had exactly the same scoreline in India’s favour.

Pakistan pulled one back through Bilal in the 28th minute as he converted a penalty corner. Pakistan tied the match 2-2 after Ali Shan scored a field goal after a defensive error from India. India wasted a couple of chances in the fourth quarter to take the lead. It was Nikkin Thimmaiah’s goal in the 51st minute that gave India the 3-2 lead.

India held on to this till the end of the time to win the match 3-2 and the gold medal for the second time in the tournament.Malaysia won the bronze medal by beating South Korea in a play-off match.

Here is how twitter reacted to the victory: 

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. J
    Jagadeesh Rajkumar
    Oct 30, 2016 at 4:51 pm
    Congrats Team India. Kudos to Sreejesh, Sardar, Ramandeep and Rupinder... particular

    IPL Fixtures


    34th T20

    04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

    Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

    Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

    35th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

    Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians

    Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

    36th T20

    04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

    Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

    Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

    37th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

    Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

    Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

    38th T20

    04:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

    Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

    Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai