Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Sourav Ganguly share unique record in ICC events

Virat Kohli and former India captains MS Dhoni and Sourav Ganguly have led India to the final of the first major ICC event they have taken part in. While Ganguly lost the final, Dhoni won it. All eyes will be on Kohli now on Sunday vs Pakistan.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: June 16, 2017 1:30:58 am
virat kohli, ms dhoni, sourav ganguly Virat Kohli will lead India in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final against Pakistan. (Source: Reuters)

After becoming the captain of the Indian team in 1999, Sourav Ganguly led India to their first big ICC event in the 2000 ICC Knockout Cup. India reached the final of that tournament but lost to New Zealand.

In 2007, MS Dhoni became the captain of the Indian T20 side. In his first ever big ICC event as captain, Dhoni led India to the World T20 final which India won as well beating Pakistan.

And now it is Virat Kohli. The ODI captain, who took over from Dhoni in January, has led India to the final of his first major ICC event as captain. India are in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 where they face Pakistan.

All three captains of the Indian team have achieved this feat of leading the team into the finals of a major ICC event in their first tournament as the captain.

Talking about Champions Trophy, Ganguly has led India to two finals, one in 2000 and the other in 2002. While India lost the 2000 edition to New Zealand, the 2002 title was shared between Sri Lanka and India after rain washed out the final and even the reserve day.

Dhoni has led India in two Champions Trophy. He won the 2013 title as India beat England in the final. India failed to reach the knockout stage of the 2009 Champions Trophy in which Dhoni was captain.

The 2017 edition of Champions Trophy is the first time Kohli is leading the team in an ICC event and he has reached the final. India face Pakistan in final on Sunday.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts