Varon Aaron to lead Jharkhand team in Ranji Trophy tournament

Jharkhand under the captaincy of Varon Aaron will start their campaign against Maharashtra at Delhi from October 6.

By: PTI | Jamshedpur | Published: October 3, 2016 8:32:25 pm
Varon Aaron, Aaron, Jharkhand, Jharkhand Ranji Trophy squad, Ranji Trophy 2016, Cricket news, Cricket Varon Aaron is currently a part of the India A team playing in Australia. (Source: PTI)

Speedster Varon Aaron will lead the 15-member Jharkhand team in the upcoming Ranji trophy commencing from October 6, Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) officials said today.

Aaron, who is part of the India A team currently playing in Australia, will lead the Jharkhand team, said JSCA secretary Rajesh Verma.

Announcing the team, Verma said middle-order batsman Pratyush Singh will be the only new face in the team, which comprised of seven bowlers, including three spinners.

Jharkhand will start their campaign against Maharashtra at Delhi from October 6, he said, expressing confidence that the team will perform to its potential this season.

Batsman Anand Singh, who impressed the selectors with his performance in the Under-23 team, has been elevated to the senior team based on merit, Verma said.

Following are the team: Varon Aaron (Captain), Ishan Kishan, S P Gautam, Anand Singh, Virat Singh, Ishan Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwari, Pratyush Singh, Kaushal Singh, Ajay Yadav, Vikash Singh, Ashish Kumar, Samar Quadri, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts