Ranji Trophy: Jammu and Kashmir set Goa 412 to win

Starting at an overnight score of 43 for 5, Goa's first innings folded for 77. Jammu and Kashmir, in reply, then quickly amassed 261 runs.

By: PTI | Surat | Published: October 14, 2016 8:06:40 pm
Ranji Trophy, Ranji 2016, Ranji Trophy scores, Ranji Trophy results, Ranji Trophy Group C, Kerala Himachal Pradesh, Haryana Hyderabad, Tripura Services, Jammu and Kashmir Goa, cricket, cricket news, sports, sports news Tripura bowler Rana Dutta and teammates celebrate wicket of Services Soumik Chatterjee. (Source: PTI)

Jammu and Kashmir put themselves in the driver’s seat by setting Goa an improbable 412 to win on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match at the Lalabhai Contractor Stadium on Friday.

Starting at an overnight score of 43 for 5, Goa’s first innings folded for 77 with Samiullah Beigh (1/26), Ram Dayal (4/15) and Umar Nazir (3/10) being the wicket takers.

Jammu and Kashmir then quickly amassed 261 in 61.3 overs, riding on half-centuries by Ian Dev Singh (64), Puneet Bist (87) and a 57-ball 48 by opener SP Khajuria (48), to set Goa a victory target of 412. Chasing the target, Goa were 22-0 in 10 overs, still needing 390 runs with 10 wickets remaining and two days to go.

For Goa, Amit Yadav (3/70) and AG Pandrekar (3/39) were the top wicket-takers, while SS Bandekar (2/33) and SB Jakati (1/70) and DW Misal (1/21) were the other contributors.

Earlier, Gao lost their sixth wicket when Bandekar was dismissed by Beigh. In the next over, Amit Yadav was caught by Khajuria of Dayal’s bowling.

SB Jakati (3) and SS Dubhashi (15) then batted for seven overs before the former was sent packing by Nazir and after three balls, Pandrekar too was removed. Dubhashi was the last man dismissed in the 31st over by Dayal.

J&K also didn’t have a good start in their second innings as opener Adil Reshi was trapped infront of wicket by Bandekar in the 3rd over. Khajuria and Singh then added 55 runs when the opener was caught by Misal of Amit’s bowling as they slipped to 68-2 in 15.2 overs.

Bandeep Singh (6) was the next to go when he was caught by Kamat of Pandrekar. Parvez Rasool too didn’t stay long as he was dismissed for naught by Pandrekar with Dubhashi managing a stumping.

Skipper Mithun Manhas (12) was adjudged LBW by Amit just after J&K had crossed the 100-mark. Singh and Bisht then added 81 runs before the the former was removed by Bandekar. In the next over, R Dayal also perished as J&K slumped to 187-7 in 46.3 overs.

Bisht took J&K across the 200-mark but lost Beigh (3) in the 52nd over. He also ensured J&K reach 250 when he ended by giving a catch to Alemao off Jakati. Nazir was the last man to be dismissed.

Brief Score: Jammu & Kashmir 1st innings: 227 Goa 1st innings: 77 (SA Asnodkar 18; R Dayal 4/15) Jammu & Kashmir 2nd innings: 261 (P Bist 87; A Pandrekar 3/39) Goa 2nd innings: 22/0 in 10 overs.

Jalaj Saxena fiver gives Kerala edge over HP

Off-spinner Jalaj Saxena grabbed five wickets for 53 runs to give Kerala a slight edge over Himachal Pradesh on the second day of their Group C Ranji Trophy clash on Friday.

Kerala resumed their first innings at 163 for 4 but were all out for 248 with Sachin Baby top-scoring with an agonisingly slow 61 which came from 209 balls. None of the other Kerala batsmen could contribute with substantial scores.

Saxena then led the Kerala bowling charge to restrict Himachal to 198 for 8 at stumps.

Himachal now trail by 50 runs with two first innings wickets in hand. Opener Prashant Chopra was the main contribute for Himachal with a 79-ball 60 while none of his colleagues could make a substantial contribution.

Brief Scores: Kerala: 248 all out in 107.1 overs (Sachin Baby 61; Rishi Dhawan 4/66). Himachal Pradesh: 198 for 8 in 56 overs (Prashant Chopra 60; Jalaj Saxena 5/53).

Haryana reach 236-4 against Hyderabad in Ranji Trophy

Nitin Saini (61) and Shubham Rohilla (60) blasted twin half centuries to power Haryana to 236 for 4 against Hyderabad on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match at Keenan Stadium on Friday.

Riding on a superlative batting display by its top-order, Haryana grabbed a lead of 45 runs with six wickets still remaining in their first innings. At the draw of stumps, Chaitanya Bishnoi (47) and Rohit Sharma (7) were at the crease.

In reply to Hyderabad’s first innings total of 191, Haryana produced a superb 126-run opening partnership to lay the foundation for a big score. Saini hit six boundaries in his 158-ball innings, while Rohilla blasted 10 fours in his 130-ball stay. Mohammed Siraj broke the partnership in the 44th over when he trapped Rohilla for an LBW and then in the 55th over Hassan had cleaned up Saini as Haryana were reduced to 138-2. Himanshu Rana (22) and Bishnoi then added 35 runs before the former was dismissed by Hassan. Rajat Paliwal (18) and Bishnoi then took Haryana across the 200-mark before the former was removed by Siraj.

Brief Score: Hyderabad 1st innings: 191 Haryana 1st innings: 236-4 in 95 overs (N Saini 61; M Siraj 2/37).


For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts