Ranji Trophy 2016: Tamil Nadu restrict Punjab to 241/6 on Day 1

Openers Manan Vohra and Jiwanjot Singh gave a solid start after Punjab elected to bat, as the duo added 97 runs for the first wicket.

By: PTI | Nagpur | Updated: November 21, 2016 10:25 pm
Katoch Shield Cricket Match Manon Vohra struck 12 boundaries in his knock of 73 off 111 balls. (Source: Express photo)

Punjab were 241/6 on the first day of their Group A Ranji Trophy match against Tamil Nadu.

At stumps, Gitansh Khera and Sandeep Sharma were batting on 22 and 4 respectively.

Opener Manan Vohra top-scored for Punjab with a knock of 73 off 111 balls, while the experienced Uday Kaul contributed 56 off 162 balls.

Vohra struck 12 boundaries, while Kaul found the fence five times.

After Punjab elected to bat, they were given a solid start by Vohra and Jiwanjot Singh (30), who put on 97 runs for the first wicket.

However, Punjab lost the openers in quick succession, and it was then left to Kaul to hold the innings together at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground.

Middle-order batsman Mandeep Singh failed to open his account, skipper Gurkeerat Singh got out after making 27, while Mayank Sidhana was dismissed for 18.

For Tamil Nadu, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh was the most successful bowler with figures of 3/89.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: November 21, 2016 7:05 pm
  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

34th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune