Ranji Trophy 2016: Suresh Raina misses ton on captains’ day out in Rajkot

Uttar Pradesh skipper Suresh Raina scored 91 while Railways captain Karn Sharma returned with four wickets on the opening day.

By: PTI | Rajkot | Published:November 29, 2016 7:12 pm
Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy 2016, 2016 Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy news, Ranji Trophy updates, Suresh Raina, Karn Sharma, Raina Uttar Pradesh, Karn Sharma Railways, Sports Suresh Raina fell nine short of hundred on Day 1 of the Ranji Trophy match between Uttar Pradesh and Railways. (Source: File)

Uttar Pradesh captain Suresh Raina missed out on a century before Railway bowlers made a strong comeback to restrict Uttar Pradesh to 269 on day one of their Group A Ranji Trophy match in Rajkot on Tuesday.

After bowling out UP, Railways trail by 241 runs and were 18/1 at stumps.

Raina was the highest scorer for UP with 91 runs, hitting eight fours and a six before being caught and bowled by medium pacer Anureet Singh, while Saurabh Kumar scored 53.

Winning the toss and opting to bowl first, captain Karn Sharma led from the front claiming four wickets and giving away 48 runs. Anureet also picked up four wickets.

Railways were not able to hold momentum losing opener Shivakant Shukla for just seven runs right before the end of the day’s play.

Brief Scores: Uttar Pradesh: 269 all out in 70.3 overs (Suresh Raina 91, Saurabh Kumar 53, Karn Sharma 4/48) Railway: 18 for 1 in 14 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 11 not out, Shivakant Shukla 7, Praveen Kumar 1/6).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

34th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

35th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

36th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali