• Associate Sponsor

Ranji Trophy 2016: Saurashtra push for upset win over Karnataka

Kamlesh Makvana and Jay Chauhan took five wickets between them as Karnataka ended the day with an overall lead of just nine runs.

By: PTI | Patiala | Updated: December 2, 2016 12:00 am
kamlesh-makvana-m Kamlesh Makvana finished with three wickets after giving away 46 runs against Karnataka. (Source: Express File)

Bottom-placed Saurashtra were poised for an upset win over Karnataka after their spinners spun a web around the opposition batsmen on the third and penultimate day of their Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match here today.

Saurashtra duo of off-spinner Kamlesh Makvana and left-arm spinner Jay Chauhan took five wickets between them as group toppers Karnataka ended the day with an overall lead of just nine runs by reaching 168 for 5 in their second innings .

Yesterday, Saurashtra had already taken the first innings lead by reaching 297 for 6 in reply to Karnataka’s 200 all out. They were bowled out for 359 with Karnataka left-arm spinner Abrar Kazi wiping out the lower order to finish with 4 for 83.

Prerak Mankad, who had raised his maiden first-class century overnight, finished with 126.

Karnataka struggled early in their second innings, and were reduced to 27 for 2 in the eighth over before being lifted through a third-wicket stand of 110 between Kaunain Abbas and Manish Pandey. Their association ended with Pandey’s dismissal for 58.

Stuart Binny (6) and CM Gautam (0) were dismissed cheaply after that, but Abbas stayed not out on 62, and along with Shreyas Gopal (15 batting), ensured that there was further damage. The pair took Karnataka to 168 for 5 at stumps.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka: 200 & 168 for 5 in 60 overs (Kaunain Abbas 62 batting, Manish Pandey 58; Kamlesh Makvana 3/46).

Saurashtra: 359 all out in 115 overs (Prerak Mankad 126; Snell Patel 87; Vinay Kumar 4/54, Abrar Kazi 4/83).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.
Live Cricket Scores & Results
indian super league 2017 schedule

indian super league 2017 points table