Ranji Trophy 2016: Railways close in on outright win over Baroda

Avinash Yadav (3/50), Anureet Singh, Deepak Bansal and Ashish Yadav picked two wickets each for Railways to bundle out Baroda for 239.

By: PTI | Nagpur | Published:November 15, 2016 7:32 pm
cricket-m Slow left-arm orthodox bowler Avinash Yadav finished with three wickets. (Source: Express File)

Riding on their bowlers all-round effort, Railways are all but set to secure a comprehensive outright win over Baroda in a Group A match of the Ranji Trophy cricket tournament.

Slow left-arm orthodox bowler Avinash Yadav (3/50), pacers Anureet Singh (2/67) and Deepak Bansal (2/36) and Ashish Yadav (2/29) picked up wickets for Railways to bundle out Baroda for 239 in their second innings after they resumed at the overnight score of 27 for no loss.

Deepak Hooda (98) is the lone Baroda batsman to show some fight before he was caught LBW in front of the wicket by Avinash just two runs short of a well-deserved century.

Set a paltry target of 113 runs for an outright win, Railways made strong start, courtesy openers Saurabh Wakaskar (45) and Shivakant Shukla (36 not out).

Ashish Singh (8) failed to make any impact with the bat as Railways finished the third and penultimate day at 90 for two.

Win is just a formality for Railways as they have enough arsenal in their batting armoury to get the required 23 runs on the final day of the match.

Brief Scores:

Baroda: 183 & 239 all out in 69.5 overs (Deepak Hooda 98; Avinash Yadav 3/50).

Railways: 310 & 90 for two in 29.4 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 45, Shivakant Shukla 36 not out; Swapnil Singh 2/26).

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


29th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 25, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali