Ranji Trophy 2016-17: Delhi inch closer to innings win over Odisha

Delhi inch closer to innings win after Odisha finish Day 3 at 109/4, trailing Delhi by 149 more runs with a day's play still left.

By: PTI | Mohali | Updated: October 29, 2016 9:55:37 pm
Ishant Sharma looked in good rhythm with figures of 11-6-17-2. Ishant Sharma looked in good rhythm with figures of 11-6-17-2.

Delhi produced a professional performance on the third day as they put Odisha on the mat with a 258-run first innings lead and then pressed for innings victory dismissing four opposition batsmen in the second innings, in Mohali on Saturday.

In reply to Odisha’s 237, Delhi declared at 495 for eight as Milind Kumar (106 no) added 156 runs with Manan Sharma (81) as Delhi stretched their lead beyond 250-run mark. Milind’s innings had eight fours and two sixes while
Manan hit 10 fours and a six.

With 258-run deficit, Odisha finished the day at a precarious 109 for 4 with Ishant Sharma taking two wickets removing both openers Sandeep Pattanaik (27) and Ranjeet Singh (2) caught by Rishabh Pant. Ishant looked in good rhythm with figures of 11-6-17-2.

Skipper Gobind Poddar was unbeaten on 52 while Anurag Sarangi and Subhranshu Senapati were reoved by Vikas Tokas and Manan respectively. With a day’s play left, Odisha still are 149 runs in deficit with only six wickets in hand.

An innings win looks imminent for Delhi, who had two indifferent outings in the last two games against Maharashtra and Karnataka respectively.

Brief Scores: Odisha 237 and 109/4 ( Gobind Poddar 52 batting, Ishant Sharma 2/17). Delhi 495/8 decl (Gautam Gambhir 147, Milind Kumar 106, Manan Sharma 81, Rishabh Pant 60).

Binny hits ton as Karnataka take big lead against Assam

Stuart Binny, who has lost his place in the Indian Test and ODI teams, struck his ninth first class hundred – a blistering 156 – as Karnataka grabbed a huge first innings lead over Assam on day three of their Group B Ranji Trophy match.

Trailing Karnataka by 245 runs on the first innings, Assam lost opener Rishav Das for 16 and were 48 for one in the second essay, behind by 197 runs overall, at draw of stumps.

Assam have an arduous task to avoid an outright loss on the final day tomorrow at the Bandra-Kurla complex ground.

The star on the penultimate day of the game was all-rounder Binny who played a sparkling knock, laced with 3 sixes and 17 fours, to puncture Assam’s slim hopes of coming back into the game.

For Assam, medium pacer Arup Das took 4 for 86, including the wicket of Binny, while his new ball partner Krishna Das claimed 2 for 95. Coming to bat for the second time, Assam lost opener Rishav who was castled by leggie Shreyas.

Brief scores: Assam 325 and 48 for 1. Karnataka 570 (R Uthappa 128, K Nair 145, S Binny 156, C M Gautam 73; A Das 4 for 86)

Maharashtra seize initiative against Rajasthan

Maharashtra produced a collective bowling effort to reduce Rajasthan to 299 for eight and seize the initiative in a Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match.

Resuming at the overnight score of 76 for two in reply to Maharashtra’s 461 all out, Rajasthan ended the day near the 300-run mark but still trail by 162 runs in the first innings with just two wickets in hand and just a day’s play remaining in the four-day game.

Opener Manender Singh added 32 more runs to his overnight personal score before being dismissed at 63, while Siddharth Dobal made 59.

Besides, Ashok Maneria (42) and Mahipal Lomror (32) also got starts before being dismissed.

At stumps on the third and penultimate day, wicket-keeper Chetan Bist was batting on 43.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra: 461 all out in 147.4 overs (Naushad Shaikh 143, Rahul Tripathi 95; Pankaj Singh 4/62). Rajasthan: 299 for eight in 118.4 overs (Manender Singh 63, Siddharth Dobal 59; Akshay Darekar 2/31).

Ramaswamy hits maiden century to lift Vidarbha to 315/3

Opener Sanjay Ramaswamy struck his maiden first-class century as Vidarbha produced an improved batting effort to pile up 315 for three in their second innings against Jharkhand in a Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match.

Ramaswamy made 102 off 203 balls with the help of 17 boundaries, while skipper Faiz Fazal hit 59 off 66 balls to stitch 93 runs for the opening stand after resuming at the overnight score of 49 for no loss.

Besides the duo, Gamesh Satish made 44 while Aditya Shanware (54 not out) and Ravi Jangid (50 not out) remained unbeaten at stumps on the third and penultimate day of the match.

Ashish Kumar (1/56), Shahbaz Nadeem (1/79) and Vikash Singh (1/94) picked up a wicket each for Jharkhand.

Vidarbha now lead Jharkhand by just 58 runs with just a day’s play remaining.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha: 105 & 315 for 3 in 96 overs (Sanjay Ramaswamy 102; Ashish Kumar 1/56). Jharkhand: 362 for 8 decl in 122.5 overs (Ishank Jaggi 112 not out; Akshay Karnewar 2/45)

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts