PCB, WICB chiefs included in ICC Executive Committee after revamp

Najam Sethi (PCB) and David Cameron (WICB) were elected to the all-powerful ICC Executive Committee.

By: Press Trust of India | Melbourne | Updated: June 28, 2014 4:03 pm

Pakistan and West Indies Cricket Board chiefs, Najam Sethi and David Cameron were on Saturday elected to the all-powerful ICC Executive Committee, which will include new ICC Chairman N Srinivasan.

The ICC Executive Committee will be chaired by Australia’s Wally Edwards and will also have England’s Giles Clarke.

The duo’s election was approved by the ICC Board, under the chairmanship of Srinivasan, during the ICC Annual Conference weekend in Melbourne.

India, England and Australia have permanent representatives on the five-member committee, while the other two members will be elected from the ICC board on an annual basis.

David Richardson, who received a two-year contract extension as ICC chief executive, will be an ex-officio member of the committee.

The Executive Committee was created as a part of the raft of administrative changes ushered in by the BCCI, ECB and CA, and described by its architects as “the sole recommendation committee on all financial (including ICC distributions and costs), constitutional, personnel (other than event personnel), anti-corruption, ethics, integrity, development and director nominations matters”.

The ICC Board noted the significant progress made on the Future Tour Programmes that has been extended through to 2023 and expressed satisfaction that there was now more certainty around long-term scheduling with a reasonable balance between home and away matches for all 10 teams as well as between the three formats.

“The ICC Board agreed with ICC Chief Executives Committee recommendation that members must sign all bilateral agreements
through to 2023 before the next ICC meeting, which takes place in October,” a release from the ICC said.

The ICC Board approved the composition of various sub-committees, which expectedly did not have any representative from Cricket South Africa.

Clarke will chair the Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee (F&CA), which will also include Edwards, Srinivasan, Nazmul Hassan (Bangladesh) and Jayantha Dharmadasa (Sri Lanka) with Richardson again an ex-officio member.

The Governance Review Committee will be chaired by New Zealand’s Martin Snedden and will include Peter Chingoka (Zimbabwe), Hassan (Bangladesh), Sanjay Patel (India) and Imran Khawaja (Singapore) with Srinivasan and Richardson as ex-officio.

The ICC Development Committee has also been reconstituted to emphasise the strategic importance of developing the game beyond its traditional boundaries.

The Committee will be chaired by the ICC Chairman and include the three Associate Member representatives of the ICC Board, the three Associate Member representatives on the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee and the Affiliate Members’ Global Representative.

It will also include the Full Member Directors Chingoka (Zimbabwe), Cameron (West Indies) and Snedden (New Zealand) as well as Richardson and ICC Head of Global Development Tim Anderson (both ex-officio).

The ICC Board agreed to give T20 international status to the Netherlands and Nepal, both of which qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014. This means there are now eight Associate sides with T20 international status. The other six are Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and United Arab Emirates (UAE) which already have T20 international status by virtue of having ODI status.

On integrity issues, the ICC Board received the annual anti-corruption report from Ronnie Flanagan, the Anti-Corruption and Security Unit Chairman, who repeated the need for the ICC to maintain its vigilance in the area of anti-corruption and also sustain the current high levels of education and strategy of prevention.

The ICC Board discussed and agreed on the Terms of Reference for a review of cricket’s anti-corruption processes and resources at both international and domestic …continued »

First Published on: June 28, 2014 3:44 pmSingle Page Format
Do you like this story