MSK Prasad appointed chairman of selection committee, Ajay Shirke re-elected as BCCI secretary

MSK Prasad played six Tests and 17 ODIs for India and has also played 96 first-class and 88 List A matches.

Written by Devendra Pandey | Updated: September 21, 2016 8:41 pm
MSK Prasad, MSK Prasad BCCI, BCCI selectors, BCCI new selectors, BCCI AGM, BCCI Annual General Meeting, Ajay Shirke, Ajay Shirke BCCI, Sports BCCI AGM took place in Mumbai on Wednesday and was attended by top officials of the board.

Former India wicketkeeper MSK Prasad has been appointed chairman of the the selection committee at the BCCI AGM on Wednesday. On expected lines, Ajay Shirke has been re-elected as BCCI secretary.

Devang Gandhi, Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh, Gagan Khoda are other selectors in Prasad-led panel. Venkatesh Prasad will chair the junior selection panel also featuring Rakesh Parikh, Aashish Kapoor, Amit Sharma and Gyanendra Pandey.

The Indian cricket board interviewed more than 90 candidates for positions in the senior, junior and women’s national selection committees over the last two days.

BCCI president Anurag Thakur will continue to be the Indian board’s representative to International Cricket Council (ICC). Sharad Pawar was nominated as the alternate director for ICC meetings.

BCCI Appoints Lightweight Selection Panel

The emergent Special General Meeting of the BCCI will be held on 30th September 2016 at 11 AM IST at the BCCI headquarters, Mumbai to consider the amendments to the rules and regulations of BCCI as recommended by Hon’ble Justice Lodha Committee. All other decisions taken by the BCCI at the AGM will be sent to the Lodha committee.

The BCCI also approved the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31st March and the budget for the year 2016-17. The Indian cricket board also finalised the women’s selection panel.

The Hemlata Kala chaired committee will also have Shashi Gupta, Anjali Pendharkar, Lopamudra Banerjee, Sudha Shah. Also, the Working Committee, Standing Committee and Special Committees elected in 2015-16 were continued with vacancies being filled where necessary.