India vs New Zealand 2nd Test, Day 3: As it happened in Kolkata

Rohit Sharma's 82 and his 103-run stand with Wriddhiman Saha put India in driver's seat against New Zealand in second Test.

Rohit Sharma scored an effortless fifty against New Zealand. (Source: Reuters)

Rohit Sharma’s magnificent innings of 82 runs on a tricky and crumbling pitch led India to a commanding position in the second Test against New Zealand on Sunday. The right-hander, alongwith Wriddhiman Saha bailed India out of trouble and helped India, who were 46/5 at one stage, reach 227/8 at the end of Day 3 at the Eden Gardens. India extended their lead to 339 runs in the second innings. Virat Kohli also batted beautifully for his 45 before being dismissed off a ball that kept very low. Saha supported Rohit and was unbeated at 39 at the end of the day. Before Tea, New Zealand pace duo of Matt Henry and Trent Boult gave New Zealand hope of a comeback in the match by taking five wickets amongst themselves and leave India troubled position.

New Zealand resumed the day at their overnight score of 128/7 with Jeetan Patel and BJ Watling. Patel was looking good for his maiden half-century but fell for 47 against R Ashwin. Mohammed Shami then wrapped up the New Zealand innings by taking the remaining two wickets, both LBW, and give India a 112-run first innings lead.

    No Comments in this live blog.
Share your thoughts