India vs Pakistan Champions Trophy final: Pakistan hammer India by 180 runs, lift first Champions Trophy title

Pakistan win their first ever Champions Trophy title after beating India by 180 runs in the final of the 2017 edition at The Oval. Pakistan posted 338/4 batting first and then bowled out India for 158 in 31 overs to clinch the trophy.

By: Express Web Desk | London | Updated: June 19, 2017 1:28:56 am
india vs pakistan, ind vs pak, india vs pakistan final, india vs pakistan champions trophy final Pakistan won their first ever Champions Trophy title. (Source: Reuters)

Chasing a target of 339 runs, India would have banked on one of the best chasers in the world. Virat Kohli has done it before for India. But, such a big score hasn’t been chased before in an ICC event and not even outside home. Add to it the pressure of playing a Champions Trophy final against arch-rivals Pakistan. Kohli’s did not get going.

Mohammad Amir produced a brilliant spell of pace bowling to reduce India to six for two in the first three overs. India could never recover from the horrific start and Pakistan won their first ever Champions Trophy title after beating India by 180 runs in the final at The Oval.

A brilliant innings of 76 off 43 balls from Hardik Pandya which raised hopes of the Indian team after they were reduced 72 for the loss of six wickets went in vain. He was involved in a mix-up with Ravindra Jadeja and was run-out. It was formalities for Pakistan after that and they clinched the win by bowling out India for 158 in the 31st over.

Pakistan, who were beaten by India in the opening game, ended their campaign as champions. The unpredictable nature of Pakistan was on show in the tournament. But, in the final, it was kind of role-reversal between the two teams. The game which was expected to be determined by the middle overs, was done and dusted in the first powerplay as Amir ran through the top order.


In contrast, a fearless century from opener Fakhar Zaman and a late hitting from middle order led Pakistan to 338 for the loss of four wickets after they were asked to bat first. Kohli’s decision to bowl first proved ineffective as Pakistan openers shared a 128-run stand. Fakhar was caught behind when he was on three and Pakistan were nine. But, Bumrah had overstepped and Zaman was called back. Both openers scored fifty in no time and Pakistan were 114 for no loss after 20 overs.

Azhar was run-out after both batsmen were stuck at one end of the wicket. But, Fakhar continued and scored his maiden century in ODIs. Babar Azam made 46 and was great company to Zaman.

Pakistan took 91 runs from the final 10 overs with Mohammad Hafeez score a quickfire half-century for them. His knock helped Pakistan cross 300 and finish with 338/4.

R Ashwin went wicketless for 10 overs costing 70 runs, his worst bowling figures in ODIs without a wicket. Jadeja was even worse as he gave away 57 from his eight overs.

India openers could not even open the account as Amir removed Rohit Sharma on the third ball of the match. Amir got the first two balls to move away from Rohit and brought the third one back into him by a huge margin as Rohit was struck on the pads. He was adjudged leg-before.

Kohli had his bit of luck as well. He was dropped at slips by Azhar Ali at slips off Amir but was dismissed next ball. Kohli closed the face of his bat early and got a leading edge and caught at point after scored five runs.

Yuvraj Singh joined Shikhar Dhawan in the middle and added 27 runs before Amir removed Dhawan. India were in serious trouble. No one thought their batsmen can be rattled like Amir did. Hopes of Yuvraj and MS Dhoni rolling back the years were created.

But, 19-year-old Shadab Khan ended those as well. He had Yuvraj leg-before after a review and the fans at The Oval began leaving the stadium. Three balls later, Dhoni fell to Hasan Ali. A short ball was pulled to deep square-leg, who ran in to take a good diving catch.

Apart from Pandya, no other Indian batsmen could play freely and were struggling to middle the ball against a steaming Pakistan bowling attack. Amir picked up 3 wickets for 16 runs from his six overs. Apart from him, Hasan Ali picked up three wickets for 16 runs and Shadab Khan had two wickets for 60. Junaid Khan picked only one wicket.

Pandya was run-out after he called for a single from the non-striker’s end. Jadeja responded but then stopped midway. Pandya continued running but Jadeja ran back to make his ground as Shadab removed the bails at the other end. There was no twists in the match thereafter as they were bowled out in the 31st over, handing Pakistan a 180 runs win and the title.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts
Live Blog
Qualifier 1 : 22 May, 2018
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Chennai Super Kings
  • 6 mins ago

    WICKET! Rayudu bowled

    Two in two for Kaul! He is pumped and so is Williamson. What a delivery to…

  • 9 mins ago

    WICKET! Raina bowled

    Suresh Raina bowled around his legs! Siddarth Kaul has removed the big man Raina. Kept the…