India vs Pakistan final, ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Jasprit Bumrah’s no-ball gives Fakhar Zaman early life

Jasprit Bumrah's front foot no-ball gives Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman an early life in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Can he and Pakistan make India pay?

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: June 18, 2017 5:19 pm
Jasprit Bumrah’s no-ball in the third over gave Fakhar Zaman an early life. (Source: AP)

Indian bowlers were off to a dominating start against Pakistan openers. Despite the pitch being likely to support spinners, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah didn’t let Fakhar Zaman or Azhar Ali free their hands in the first couple of overs. With just seven runs in three overs, Pakistan batsmen were looking to pick up pace.

The Indians, on the other hand, were looking for that opportunity where Pakistan batsmen make some mistake while looking for runs. In the third over, Bumrah got an outside edge of Fakhar, who was going for a big one but could only find MS Dhoni behind the stumps.

Fakhar was on his way back before umpire Marais Erasmus asked him to stay as he asked the TV umpire if Bumrah had overstepped. Replays showed that the right-arm pacer had overstepped by an inch. Fakhar Zaman had an early lifeline.

The two openers exploited that little piece of luck to full as they scored runs against the likes of Bumrah and R Ashwin. They managed to replicate their previous partnerships and brought their 100-run partnership in the 18th over.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.
Pro Kabaddi League 2017 - Points Table
No.
Team
P
W
L
D
Pts

Pro Kabaddi League 2017 - Schedule
Aug 20, 201721:00 IST
Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow
<!-- Match 39 -->
22
Inter Zone Challenge Week - Match 39
FT
24
Jaipur Pink Panthers beat U.P. Yoddha (24-22)
Aug 22, 201720:00 IST
Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow
<!-- Match 40 -->
VS
Zone A - Match 40
Aug 22, 201721:00 IST
Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow
<!-- Match 41 -->
VS
Zone B - Match 41