Umesh Yadav has to thank Herschelle Gibbs for his catch that dismissed Joe Root. There seems to be some confusion regarding the legality of Yadav’s catch – whether he had full control of it or not – but the change in the law in 2000 effectively nailed it in his favour.
Before we get to the law, here is what happened on the first day at Rajkot. Root hit the ball back towards the bowler. Yadav, who cupped it with both palms, tossed it up almost immediately, before he started to juggle it with one hand and failed to hold on to it again despite frantic efforts.
It would have been deemed ‘Not Out’ if it had been pre-2000. As it happened with Gibbs in the 1999 World Cup. Back then, Gibbs was at midwicket and held the ball flicked by Steve Waugh, but when he tried to throw it up immediately, he lost control and the ball fell to the ground. It all happened quickly, and was ruled not out by then prevalent law.
It’s to the Law 32 that we need to turn to. Pre 2000, it was the 1980 code, and the law stated thus: “The act of making the catch shall start from the time when the fieldsman first handles the ball and shall end when he both retains complete control over the further disposal of the ball and remains within the field of play.”
- Soon You Could Get Plastic Currency Notes: Find Out More
- Ranveer Singh and Vaani Kapoor Starrer Befikre Gets A Thumbs Up
- Supreme Court Seeks Centre’s Response Over Various Issues Regarding Demonetisation
- Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar Writes To West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee
- Bigg Boss 10 December 8 Review: Swami Om Feels Cheated, lashes Out At Gaurav For Jail Punishment
- South Korean President Park Geun-Hye Impeached Over Corruption Scandal
- Former Air Chief SP Tyagi Arrested In VVIP Chopper Scam
- After Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Liquor Baron Vijay Mallya’s Twitter Account Hacked
- Find Out What PM Narendra Modi Told Cabinet Over Demonetisation Decision
- Home Minister Rajnath Singh Assures Safety Of All Tourists Stranded On Havelock Island
- Government To Waive Service Tax On Debit, Credit Card Transactions Of Up To Rs 2,000
- President Pranab Mukherjee Criticises Parliament Disruptions Over Demonetisation
- Pakistan International Airlines Flight Carrying Over 40 Passenger On Board Crashes
- Shah Rukh Khan On Raees Clash With Kaabil: It’s Impossible To Have A Solo Release In India
- US-President Elect Donald Trump Named TIME’s Person Of The Year 2016
The relevant part is this: “retains complete control over the further disposal of the ball”. Gibbs didn’t have control then and neither did Yadav now.
But subsequent to that Gibbs incident, when a few changes were made in the cricket laws, its phrasing changed. It now reads: “The act of making the catch shall start from the time when a fielder first handles the ball and shall end when the fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his movement.”
The parts about ‘disposal’ were removed from the rule. So, now it didn’t matter whether Yadav was in control when he was disposing of the ball. The only thing that mattered was whether he was in control when the ball was in his hands. Which he certainly was. The replays showed that that the ball stayed in his hands for a good three-four seconds before he decided to toss the ball up to celebrate the much-awaited Root dismissal.