India-Australia four-match Test series from February 23

India's four match Test series at home against Australia will begin with first Test in Pune from February 23.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: October 21, 2016 1:47:40 pm
india vs australia, ind vs aus, india vs australia schedule, ind vs aus fixtures, ind vs aus 2017, india vs australia test series, india cricket schedule, india cricket fixtures India will play four Test matches against Australia in February-March in 2017. (Source: AP)

India announced the schedule of the much awaited four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy that will begin from Feburary 23 in Pune. India and Australia will play four Tests matches, beginning Feburary 23 and will go on till March 29.

The first Test, scheduled to be played in Pune, will begin from Feburary 23 and continue till Feburary 27. Both teams will then travel to Bengaluru for the second match which begins on March 4 and continues till March 8. A break of one week after two Tests, the teams will head towards the eastern part of India and play the third match in Ranchi, starting March 16.

WATCH VIDEO: Another Blow to BCCI: Here’s What Happened


The fourth and final match of the series will be played at the picturesque Dharamasala stadium which will begin on March 24. BCCI had earlier announced the venues but not the dates which were confirmed on Friday.

The last time Australia toured India for a Test series, the hosts whitewashed them 4-0 in 2013 to win the Border-Gavaskar trophy. But Australia claimed in back when they beat India 2-0 in a four-match Test series in Australia in 2014-15. This series was held just after the death of Phil Hughes.

Before the Australia series, India have a pakced scheduled with England playing five Test matches in November and Decemeber. After the Christmas break, England will return in January to play a five-match ODI series.

India are currently playing New Zealand in a five-match ODI series after winning a three-match Test series 3-0.

Australia also have a packed international schedule in 2017 with Chappell-Hadlee ODI series against New Zealand in early Feburary. As per the Cricket Australia website, the Test players are like to head to India after the New Zealand ODI series which will force captain Steve Smith, opener David Warner and pacer Mitchell Starc to miss the three T20Is against Sri Lanka in February.

Test series schedule:

1st Test
February 23-27, Pune

2nd Test
March 4-8, Bengaluru

3rd Test
March 16-20, Ranchi

4th Test
March 24-28, Dharamsala

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts
Live Blog
Qualifier 1 : 22 May, 2018
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Chennai Super Kings
  • 3 mins ago

    WICKET! Shakib strangled

    Another batsman strangled down the leg side! Bravo cramps Shakib for room and he tries…

  • 9 mins ago

    End of the powerplay

    Sunrisers Hyderabad are 47 for the loss of three wickets after 6 overs. Fielding restrictions…