India beat Australia by 8 wickets, win series 2-1 to reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy; end season as World No.1

India end home season with an an eight-wicket win over Australia to reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

By: Express Web Desk | Dharamsala | Updated: March 28, 2017 5:39 pm
india vs australia, ind vs aus, india vs australia results, ind vs aus results, india win, india cricket, cricket india, cricket news, cricket, indian express India win the series 2-1 against Australia to remain top ranked team in Test cricket. (Source: Reuters)

India needed only 18 overs on day four to complete a eight-wicket win over Australia in the fourth and final Test of the series, which also helped India win the series 2-1 on Tuesday. Chasing a target of 106 runs, India reached there inside the first session on day four and with eight wickets in hand to reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

KL Rahul was the backbone of the Indian innings as he steered his team to win with an unbeaten half-century, his sixth of the series. In his unbeaten innings of 52, Rahul hit nine boundaries and with Ajinkya Rahane, he ended all hopes for Australia.

Rahane too played an important innings for India as he counter-attacked Australian bowlers after two wickets fell in quick succession. He was unbeaten on 38 runs which he scored off only 27 balls. Rahane’s innings consisted of four fours and two sixes.

Resuming the day at 19 for no loss, India were quick to accumulate runs in the morning with Rahul playing some beautiful cover drives. He shared a 46-run opening stand with Murali Vijay.

Pat Cummins inflicted the first blow to India when he had Vijay caught behind when the Indian batsman was batting on eight runs. A short-length delivery rose up and moved away from Vijay off the seam. Vijay was caught on the crease and got a faint edge.

Australia’s hopes off pulling off a miracle rose when Glenn Maxwell ran-out Cheteshwar Pujara for a duck next over. Pujara hesitated after calling for single and Maxwell was quick with the direct-hit. India still needed 61 runs to win the match.

But, Rahane put the attacking mode on right from the start and even hit Cummins for consecutive boundaries. The Indian skipper remained not out on 38. India were set a target of 106 by Australia, who were bowled out for 137 in their second innings. Umesh Yadav, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took three wickets each while Bhuvneshwar Kumar chipped in with a wicket.

Ravindra Jadeja, india, australia, india vs australia, ind vs aus, dharamshala match, cricket news, sports news

The match was set up by India’s show with the bat as hosts, responding to Australia’s 300 in the first innings, managed 332 in their first essay and took a crucial 32-run lead in the process.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. Z
    Mar 28, 2017 at 5:54 am
    White media dont cover the news if the convict kin are loosing, why do colonized mnd carry, 'their' news on it's frnt page, just wondering.
    1. A
      Apte Narendra
      Mar 28, 2017 at 10:00 am
      1. The win in the fourth Test match just underscored how a Test match can be won by good team effort. 2. India lost the first Test in Pune in a very unusual and bad way. But perhaps Virat Kohli and his team realised that after all the Australians were not ready to be overwhelmed by Team India’s series wins against New Zealand and England. Their approach was highly professional and it worked wonderfully in the first Test. 3. I believe first Test loss did raise doubts/questions as regards out batsmen’s ability to face spin bowling. These doubts remain though we have won the series 2-1. 4. I believe that this series is a sort of reality check for a few members of Team India. Captain Virat Kohli went through a rough patch (and he has to get over that at the earliest). Ajinkya Rahane, his deputy, too did not perform as per his known potential. Fast bowler Ishant Sharma’s performance was just below par. Karun Nair after his terrific performance and a triple century against England just failed to impress the selectors who will have to justify his election when team is selected for next series. 5. R. Ashwin, R Jadeja and Umesh Yadav will have to prove that they do well in countries like Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and England where pitches are generally prepared to suit their fast bowlers.
      1. T
        Mar 28, 2017 at 5:40 am
        Congratssss India 👏👏👏👏👏👍
        1. T
          Mar 28, 2017 at 6:28 am
          Why so ?what made u think he is a mallu?
          1. D
            Dr.Damodar Biswal
            Mar 28, 2017 at 7:01 am
            India outpla Australia.Congratulation boys.U deserve the victory.Keep it up.
            1. Load More Comments
            Live Cricket Scores & Results
            indian super league 2017 schedule

            indian super league 2017 points table