ICC Champions Trophy 2017: MS Dhoni misjudges catch, Virat Kohli breaks into peals of laughter; watch video

The incident happened in the 23rd over when Taskin Ahmed sliced the ball towards the third man and MS Dhoni ran backwards in an attempt to gobble it up. However, he completely misjudged it as the ball landed safely.

By: Express Web Desk | Published:May 31, 2017 1:16 am
Incidentally, MS Dhoni was fielding without the gloves, a sight which is not often seen on the cricket field.

Former Indian wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni had a rare moment of misfortune on the field when he misjudged a catch on the field. Incidentally, Dhoni was fielding without the gloves, a sight which is not often seen on the cricket field.

The incident happened in the 23rd over when Hardik Pandya bowled a delivery outside the off stump to tailender Taskin Ahmed. Taskin attempted to hoik it over mid-wicket region but ended up getting a thick edge and slicing towards the third man. MS Dhoni who was standing in the gully region ran backwards in an attempt to gobble it up. However, he completely misjudged it and the ball landed safely.

Skipper Virat Kohli saw the lighter side of it and could not stop laughing.

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni was seen carrying drinks for his teammates during the Champions Trophy warm-up match between India and Bangladesh at Oval.

Dhoni neither batted nor performed his wicketkeeping duties today (May 31) against Bangladesh as he had handed the keeping gloves to Dinesh Karthik.

Neither captain Virat Kohli nor Dhoni came out to bat today as they wanted the other batsmen to gain experience from the conditions ahead of the Champions Trophy main matches.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    Abcd
    May 31, 2017 at 8:05 pm
    What do you mean former indian wicket keeper He still plays.. He plays well....
    Reply
    1. S
      Swaraj Bangar
      May 31, 2017 at 2:18 pm
      MS is always best.
      Reply
      1. R
        raju
        May 31, 2017 at 10:12 am
        dhoni is not former indian wicketkeeper
        Reply
        1. S
          Sudhakar
          May 31, 2017 at 9:42 am
          You guys at Indian express are students working part-time as journos? What do you mean former wicket keeper? Are you on weed?
          Reply
          1. A
            Abhisek Datta
            May 31, 2017 at 9:31 am
            Sir, Indian wicketkeeper means? He is still playing
            Reply
            1. A
              Abhisek Datta
              May 31, 2017 at 9:31 am
              Former Indian wicketkeeper 😕
              Reply
            2. L
              Lalit Prakash
              May 31, 2017 at 8:23 am
              Where the F is that video? Is this an effin clickbait?
              Reply
              1. Load More Comments