Harmanpreet Kaur replaces Mithali Raj as T20 captain for Asia Cup

Mithali Raj was captain in the team's last international T20 campaign, which was the World T20 at home.

By: PTI | New Delhi | Published:October 29, 2016 6:16 pm
Harmanpreet Kaur, Harmanpreet, Mithali Raj, Mithali, Harmanpreet Kaur Asia Cup, India women's cricket, India cricket team, India cricket, cricket, cricket news, sports, sports news Harmanpreet Kaur has been named as the captain for the Asia Cup.

Harmanpreet Kaur was on Saturday named the new captain of the Indian women’s T20 team replacing veteran Mithali Raj, who has retained her ODI captaincy. Mithali is however a part of the T20 squad led by Harmanpreet.

The BCCI announced the India squad for the home series against the West Indies from November 10 and Asia Cup to be played in Thailand from November 27.

Mithali was captain in the team’s last international T20 campaign, which was the World T20 at home. The venue of the West Indies comprising three ODIs and as many T20 Internationals is Vijaywada.

Asia Cup squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, S Meghna, Vanitha VR, Anuja Patil, Veda Krishnamurthy, Sushma Verma, Nuzhat Parween, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bist, Preeti Bose, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi.

ODI squad for West Indies series: Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur, Smrit Mandhana, Thirush Kamini, Mona Meshram, Veda Krishnamurthy, Devika Vaidya, Sushma Verma, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Sukanya Parida, Ejta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma.

T20 squad for the West Indies series: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, S Meghna, Vanitha V R, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Nuzhat Parween, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Preeti Bose, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jhulan Goswami, Skhika Pandey, Mansi Joshi.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


28th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 24, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

29th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 25, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata