England vs South Africa, 1st Test: Joe Root’s unbeaten 184 helps England finish Day 1 at 357/5 against South Africa

England rode on Joe Root (184*) and Moeen Ali's (61*) unbeaten 167-run partnership to end Day 1 at 357/5. Root became the sixth England batsman to score a hundred on captaincy debut. He also joins the likes of Virat Kohli and Steve Smith.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: July 6, 2017 11:37 pm
england vs south africa live score, live england vs south africa score, live eng vs sa, eng vs sa live score, live cricket score, cricket news, sports news, indian express After early hiccups, England rode on Joe Root’s unbeaten 184 to end day 1 for 357/5.

In his first Test as England captain, Joe Root led from the front as he along with Moeen Ali forged an unbeaten 167-run partnership to boost England’s total to 357/5 at stumps on Day 1. After taking over from Alastair Cook, Root became the sixth English player to score a hundred on captaincy debut. After winning the toss and opting to bat first, hosts lost openers, Cook and Jennings, early. The newly appointed captain joined by Gary Ballance steadied England’s innings before Morne Morkel struck to get Ballance leg-before. Later, fifties by Stokes and Moeen helped Root bat with ease and end the first day at 184 not out. Vernon Philander was the pick of the bowlers as he finished for 3/46. In the absence of Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar marshalled his troops well as the visitors kept on taking wickets at regular intervals. It will be important for them to take early wickets on Day 2 if they look to bundle out England under the 400-run mark.

England XI: Alastair Cook, Keyton Jennings, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Liam Dawson, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson

South Africa XI: HG Kuhn, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Temba Bavuma, TB de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

    Live Cricket Scores & Results
    indian super league 2017 schedule

    indian super league 2017 points table