Ranji Trophy 2016: Delhi thrash Assam by an innings and 83 runs

Delhi bowled out Assam for 313 in their second innings after taking a 396-run lead.

By: PTI | Vadodara | Updated: October 9, 2016 9:53:51 pm
ranji trophy, ranji 2016, ranji trophy 2016, ranji delhi, delhi vs assam, assam ranji, delhi ranji trophy, ranji news, india domestic cricket, cricket news sports news Delhi’s Manan Sharma took five wickets in 26.3 overs. (Express photo by Ravi Kanojia)

Delhi started their Ranji Trophy campaign in a resounding fashion as they wallopped last edition’s semi-finalists Assam by an innings and 83 runs on the final day of the opening group league encounter.

Having piled up a gigantic first innings score of 589 for 8 thereby taking a 396-run lead, Delhi bowled out Assam for 313 in their second day to log home a maximum seven points including a bonus point.

For Delhi, it was left-arm spinner Manan Sharma, who grabbed a career-best 5/108 in 26.3 overs while left-arm seamer Pradeep Sangwan (2/40) and slow left-armer Varun Sood (2/81) chipped in with vital breakthroughs.

Needing seven wickets on the final day after Assam started the proceedings at 100 for three, Delhi bowlers kept up the pressure from the start.

The first breakthrough in the morning was provided by pacer Navdeep Saini, who got left-handed Amit Verma (35) to edge one to Rishabh Pant behind the stumps.

Once the 62-run stand was broken, the other overnight batsman KB Arun Karthik (34) was snapped up by skipper Unmukt Chand off Sood’s bowling to have Assam reeling at 121 for five.

As the end looked imminent, Assam’s middle-order provided some resistance with Tarjinder Singh (42) adding 78 runs in company of J Syed Mohammed (82). Tarjinder became Manan’s third victim caught by Sangwan.

However it was Sarupam Purkayashtha (47), who provided support to Syed Mohammed as the duo added 72 runs to delay the inevitable.

From 271 for six, it soon became 271 for eight as Sangwan send back Sarupam and Abu Nechim Ahmed (0) in a space of three deliveries.

Syed Mohammed’s 154 ball vigil that consisted of 10 boundaries and two sixes ended when he tried to hoick Manan to be caught by Saini in the deep.

Manan wrapped up the proceedings by trapping Krishna Das leg before with an arm delivery to record his fifth five-wicket haul in first class cricket.

Brief Scores:

Assam 193 and 313 in 96.3 overs (J Syed Mohammed 82, Sarupam Purkayastha 47, Manan Sharma 5/108)

Delhi 589/8 decl.

Delhi won by an innings and 83 runs.

Jharkhand start with six-wicket win over Maharashtra

Jharkhand today knocked off the remaining 37 runs to open their campaign with a six-wicket victory over Maharashtra in a group league encounter of the Ranji Trophy, here tomorrow.

With a paltry victory target of 93, Jharkhand coming in at 56 for four, did not have much problems as they achieved their goal in only 6.5 overs.

Virat Singh (33 no) and Anand Singh (25 no) added 48 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket stand.

Maharashtra scored 210 and 188 in their two innings while Jharkhand scored 306 in their first essay with Kaushal Singh scoring 130.

The match attracted some attention because India’s limited overs captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was training with the team and was present during the first few days watching his statemates fighting it out there in the middle. Kaushal was adjudged Man of the Match.

Brief Scores:

Maharashtra 210 and 188.

Jharkhand 306 & 93/4 (Virat Singh 33 no, Anand Singh 25).

Jharkhand won by 6 wickets.

Odisha draw against Vidarbha

Odisha put up an improved batting display led by skipper Govinda Poddar’s fifty to eke out a draw against Vidarbha who settled for three points by virtue of their first innings lead in their Ranji Trophy group B match here today.

Resuming on 74 for no loss with 48 runs in arrears, Odisha lost Sandeep Patnaik (40) after the addition of just four runs. The debutant got out to Lalit Yadav without adding anything to his overnight total.

But Odisha skipper Poddar held the innings together with a 58 (6×4, 1×6), his 13th first-class half century, before being dismissed at the stroke of lunch by Yadav 2/42).

In the second session, Odisha lost three wickets in seven runs — Subhranshu Senapati (34), Haladhar Das (two) and Biplab Samantray (23) — with Akshay Wakhare (3/61) striking twice in successive overs but Deepak Behera held fort with a defiant 31 not out to force a draw.

Having impressed with his medium pace bowling en route to a 3/35 yesterday, Behera wielded the willow with three two fours and three sixes in an entertaining 64-run eighth wicket stand with Basant Mohanty (24; 3×4, 1×6).

Poddar declared their second innings with 274/9 in 102.1 as the match ended in a draw and Odisha returned with one point.

Brief Scores

Odisha 1st Innings: 150 and 2nd Innings: 274/9 declared; 102.1 overs (Govinda Poddar 58; Akshay Wakhare 3/61, Ravi Jangid 2/21, Lalit Yadav 2/42, Aditya Sarvate 2/64).

Vidarbha 1st Innings: 272/6 declared; 102 overs (Faiz Fazal 99; Deepak Behera 3/35).


For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts