Champions Trophy 2017: Shafiul Islam included in Bangladesh squad

In this edition of the Champions Trophy Bangladesh has been placed with Australia, England and New Zealand in Group A.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: April 20, 2017 4:10 pm
bangladesh, ban, sports news, indian express The 2006 edition was the last time Bangladesh played in the tournament. (Source: AP)

Bangladesh cricket board announced its list of 15 man squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy in England. A surprise inclusion in the team was that of pace-bowler Shafiul Islam. Shafiul has been out of action from the international scene since he picked up a hamstring injury in a domestic league match last year. However, Nurul Hasan, pacer Subashis Roy and all-rounder Shuvagata Hom failed to make the cut.

The Champions Trophy, to be played between the top eight ODI sides of the world, starts from June 1 in England. The last time Bangladesh played in the champions trophy was in 2006 and hence it will be a special occasion for the team from the subcontinent.

In this edition of the Champions Trophy Bangladesh has been placed with Australia, England and New Zealand in Group A.

Bangladesh have been in good form and recently won their 100th Test match against Sri Lanka. They beat Sri Lanka by four wickets in what was their 100th match in the longest format. Set a modest 191-run target, the visitors rode on Tamim Iqbal’s brisk start and the composed 109-stand in the middle overs. This win makes Bangladesh only the second team, after Pakistan, from the sub-continent to register a win in their 100th Test.

Meanwhile, here is the squad for the Champions Trophy: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: April 20, 2017 2:18 pm
  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

33rd T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

34th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

35th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot