Follow Us:
Thursday, April 19, 2018

Bangladesh vs England, 1st Test: Fixtures, stats, squads and more

Here's everything you need to know about the two-match Test series between Bangladesh and England.

By: Reuters | Published: October 18, 2016 3:39:43 pm
Ban vs Eng, Ban vs Eng 1st Test, Bangladesh England 1st Test, bangladesh england cricket test, alastair cook, alastair cook cricket, cricket news, cricket Alastair Cook will lead England in the two Tests in Chittagong and Dhaka. (Source: Reuters/File)

England take on Bangladesh in the two-match Test series starting at Chittagong on Thursday. The series serves as a nice preparation for England for their India tour later. The visitors enjoy an unbeaten run against the hosts in the whites as they have beaten them in their all eight meetings so far. Alastair Cook returns to lead the Test side and the visitors would like to finalise his opening partner before taking on India in the tough tour. The second match of the series will be played in Dhaka from October 28 to November 1. Factbox on the two-Test series between England and Bangladesh starting at Chittagong on Thursday:


Captain: Alastair Cook

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Moeen Ali, Zafar Ansari, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes.


Captain: Mushfiqur Rahim

Coach: Chandika Hathurusingha

Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan, Mominul Haque, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Shuvagata Hom, Soumya Sarkar and Taijul Islam.


Total: 8

England won: 8


2010 – England won by innings and 80 runs, Manchester

2010 – England won by eight wickets, Lord’s

2010 – England won by nine wickets, Dhaka

2010 – England won by 181 runs, Chittagong

2005 – England won by innings and 27 runs, Chester-le-Street

FIXTURES (all start 0400 GMT):

1st Test – October 20-24, Chittagong

2nd Test – October 28-November 1, Dhaka

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts