Sameer Verma goes down fighting in Hong Kong Superseries final

Sameer Verma staged a comeback in the second game to force a decider but didn't have enough in the tank for the title.

By: Express Web Desk | Published:November 27, 2016 3:02 pm
Sameer Verma, Hong Kong Open Superseries final, Hong Kong superseries, Hong Kong superseries badminton, sameer verma superseries final, sameer verma superseries, sameer verma badminton, badminton news, sports news Sameer Verma finishes runners-up in the Hong Kong Open Superseries.

Sameer Verma gave local favourite NG Ka Long Angus a tough fight but in the end that wasn’t enough to get him his first Superseries crown. After 50 minutes of tussle, Angus won 21-14, 10-21, 21-11 much to the delight of a packed crowd. In the process, Angus also became the first male shuttler from Hong Kong to win a Superseries title.

The duo had faced each other as juniors but in their first meeting on the senior tour, it was Angus who came out on top and changed the head-to-head record from 2-0 to 2-1.

In the first game, Sameer was cautious which played to Angus’ advantage who made the most of it to grow into the game and keep the lead going.

That tide turned in the second when the Indian shuttler became more aggressive and stronger with his play. He would use big thunderous smashes and have Angus moving at all times with deft touches.

But the third game highlighted the lack of nerves and also a sign of fitness issues to play a long drawn out contest. This, coupled with home crowd, worked for Angus who pushed Sameer into making errors. On match point, Sameer scrambled after a well struck shot possibly thinking he had the point in his kitty but somehow Angus got it back and it turned to be well placed for the Hong Kong player to go down on the court in celebration.

Sunday proved to be a poor day for Indian badminton with both players losing out. Earlier, PV Sindhu was second best to Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying in the women’s final.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


34th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

35th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 29, 2017 .

Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai Indians

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

36th T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

37th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 30, 2017 .

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

38th T20

04:00 PM (IST) May 1, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai